RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 11

Photobucket

Yep, that’s my baby: the size of a house key. Week 11 has officially begun!
They say 75% of pregnant women suffer from some form of morning sickness. All of my close friends have had it with their pregnancies and I have nothing but sympathy for them. I literally can’t imagine what it would be like to have constant sickness for which there is no cure but patience, for I am a member the 25%: we are very lucky women who have nausea-free pregnancies.
I’m not intending to gloat whatsoever; on the contrary in fact. I am *almost* jealous (I said almost!) of the 75% because their sickness is at least a reminder that yep, there’s a person growing in there. All I’ve got to reassure me is ravaging hunger: baby must be growing because s/he is sucking the nutrients from me at a vigorous pace!
Most of the day I can’t stop eating: here’s my consumption on a typical day of week 11:
  • A bowl (or two) of cheerios
  • Two pieces of wheat toast with jam
  • Yogurt
  • Crackers if needed (they’re always needed)
  • Cottage cheese
  • This week lunch has consisted of lots of pasta: leftover spaghetti, spinach lasagna or some whole grain pasta bianca.
  • A salad (I make my own with romaine, baby spinach and kale leaves tossed in a raspberry vinaigrette dressing – raw kale is not all that tasty). Two solid cups of leaves usually do the trick.
  • Dark chocolate. There are antioxidants in it! And chocolate makes for happy babies! I’m sure of it!
  • For dinner this week I’ve had a few chicken Caesar wraps – mmmm more greens.
  • A veggie such as green beans or asparagus
  • Ice cream or more chocolate
That’s all me folks. Other than consuming far too many grains (at least they’re whole grains!) I think I’m doing pretty well!
Some standards:
  • Total weight gain: 4 pounds in 4 weeks (given that I eat like a teenage boy and don’t puke, I guess that’s about right)
  • Cravings: pasta and salads
  • Coolest symptom: my love for chocolate is back with a vengeance (during weeks 4-9ish it was not appealing)
  • Lamest symptom: frequent, room-clearing gas. Another similarity to a teenage boy. Huh.
Finally, it’s science time: here’s the dish on week 11 according to babycenter.com.
Your baby is now almost fully formed! At just over 1 1/2 inches long, he or she is about the size of a fig. Your baby’s hands will soon open and close into fists, tiny tooth buds are beginning to appear under the gums, and some of the bones are beginning to harden. He or she is already busy kicking and stretching, and these tiny movements are so effortless they look like water ballet. Movements will become more frequent as your baby grows, but you won’t feel the acrobatics for another few months. You also won’t notice your baby’s hiccupping, which may be happening now that his or her diaphragm is forming.
Leave a Reply

