RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 12

Photobucket Baby is the size of a billiard ball this week! I chose the #13 ball because Baby2 is due on lucky Friday, July 13th! When I pointed that out to the midwife (that the 13th is a Friday, that is), she said, “Oh well we can make it the 14th if you want.” Yes, let’s do tell the baby when s/he is allowed to make her/is arrival.  That would be awesome!

I don’t put too much stock in due dates. Kiddo1 was a little early himself. I doubt Baby2 will arrive right on time, and if the 13th is our day, then that’s cool too because it’s usually not such a bad day for me, as far as luck goes.

What HAS been pretty unlucky in the last week or so are the headaches. After I published last week’s update (about how awesome not having morning sickness is, natch) I started getting these looooong-lasting headaches. I had one that started on Christmas Eve, lasted all through Christmas Day and finally ended… well I’m still sort of waiting for it to end. I woke up with it again yesterday, it came and went throughout the day and I’m hoping that means I’m almost at the end of it? I hope…

Through my research I found a few helpful hints that I hope will keep the headaches away:

  • Eat lots. Not just lots but good food. Usually I eat a ton (also noted in last week’s update post), but that tends to be while I’m at work. This week I’ve been at home for holiday break so I’ve been keeping myself busy with cleaning, laundry, projects and, of course, lounging on the couch trying to rid myself of the headache-that-will-not-end. So eating hasn’t been on the top of the priority list. Big no-no! No wonder my head ached so much – I wasn’t eating my normal copious quantities of good food.
  • Drink lots of water. I usually get in at least 60 ounces a day, but I’m trying to increase that to 90. “They” say pregnant women need at least 64 ounces of water each day plus an additional 8 ounces for each hour of light activity. So drink up.
  • Sleep. Mmmm glorious  sleep. At least 8 hours a night. This usually isn’t hard in the first trimester as exhaustion usually is a symptom of pregnancy, but shoot: ladies are busy (pregnant ones included) and between work, out-of-the-uterus kids and other domestic obligations it can be tough getting those 8 hours every night. In order to keep productive throughout the day, though, sleep needs to be a priority every night.
  • Caffeine withdrawal. I don’t drink coffee, soda, etc. so I don’t think this is a factor in my headaches. But sometimes I do find that a few sips of Mr. Handsome’s soda does help somewhat. Caffeine thins the blood a bit and allows it to flow more freely through the brain. Don’t overdo it though, for multiple reasons: mostly that it can thin the blood too much and over 200mg of caffeine is not a good idea for baby. I can just see the little fetus bouncing off the ute walls in there, all jacked up. Probably not cool.

Sometimes preventing doesn’t work. In that case, here’s what I’ve tried and each have helped a little (although nothing works as well as my old, now forbidden, stand-by, Advil. Sad face):

  • Lay down in a mostly dark room (especially if light makes the pain worse).
  • Quiet.
  • Cold packs to the forehead for tension headaches, hot packs for sinus headaches.
  • Hot shower or bath with some steam action.

Thanks to americanpregnancy.org for the info listed above. For more on triggers and when to call your health provider, follow this link.

The weekly standards:

  • Total weight gain: still 4 pounds
  • Cravings: scrambled eggs
  • Coolest symptom: When I lay on my stomach I can feel an “expansion” where I believe my uterus is. My bloat is also getting a bit harder so it feels like the uterus is at last taking over some of the “bump” I have!
  • Lamest symptom: the aforementioned headaches

Science Time, courtesy of babycenter.com:

The most dramatic development this week: reflexes. Your baby’s fingers will soon begin to open and close. His or her mouth will make sucking movements. Toes will curl, and eye muscles will clench. Meanwhile, nerve cells are multiplying rapidly, and in your baby’s brain, synapses are forming furiously. In fact, if you prod your abdomen, your baby will squirm in response, although you won’t be able to feel it. Your baby’s intestines, which have grown so fast that they protrude into the umbilical cord, will start to move into the abdominal cavity, and the kidneys will begin excreting urine into your baby’s bladder. Your baby’s face looks unquestionably human: His or her eyes have moved from the sides to the front of the head, and the ears are right where they should be. From crown to rump, your baby-to-be is just over 2 inches long (about the size of a lime) and weighs half an ounce.

Leave a Reply

