RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 13

PhotobucketIt’s Friday, time for another week to begin and this week it is another lucky number 13! (Not because last week was also the 13th week but because baby was the size of a #13 billiard ball and I talked about the due date being Friday, July 13th. Just in case you haven’t been paying attention.) Baby is about three inches long, the exact diameter of a Bubble Tape container. My son loves Bubble Tape and I recall feeling the same way when I was nine. What’s not to like about it? The taste is bubble-tastic (for about five minutes, but kids have a short attention span) and you can break off as much as you want! No need to stuff multiple pieces in your mouth and deal with all the wrappers. Score!

This week I am super excited because (drumroll, please) my baby bump has officially arrived! And it is noticeable to people besides myself! I caught a few people at work eyeing it as I arrived/left meetings or walked the halls. Yes, I do see you looking down and I know you’re not checking out my boobs (although there’s certainly a bit more of them to notice lately, too).

It’s exciting when the bump arrives. It just makes the whole pregnancy thing feel a little more real. I, like loads of pregnant women nearing the end of the first trimester, don’t have a lot of symptoms so it can be hard to remember that I’m pregnant sometimes… except for when I really want a glass of wine but know I can’t have it. Urrrrg.

Yesterday evening I was lounging on the sofa with the laptop (writing this post) and Kiddo1 looks over and he says, “Wow, mom, your belly is getting bigger every minute!” Out of the mouths of babes, I tell you what. Right now that kind of talk is music to my ears. In a couple months, however, we might have a situation on our hands…

So that’s the baby bump update. Let’s hear what’s going on with the actual baby, courtesy babycenter.com:

Fingerprints have formed on your baby’s tiny fingertips. Veins and organs are clearly visible through his or her still-thin skin. Your baby’s body is starting to catch up with that oversized head, which makes up just a third of his or her body size now. If you’re having a girl, she now has more than 2 million eggs in her ovaries. Your baby is almost 3 inches long (the size of a medium shrimp) and weighs nearly an ounce.

Finally, the weekly standards:

  • Total weight gain: 5 pounds (apparently the “experts” say one should only gain 3-5 pounds in the first trimester. However, the midwives that I have met with tell me that as long as you are eating right and taking care of yourself, the weight can’t doesn’t need to be a focus. So I feel better.)
  • Cravings: pasta! I seem to have a huge pasta addiction this week. I ate pasta for lunch AND dinner a good four days this week. It wasn’t all bad though: the majority of the time I had whole wheat pasta and I tried to always mix it with a veggie like spinach.
  • Coolest symptom: having a real bump for a few days has been nice!
  • Lamest symptom: the headaches still linger, although they’re not as frequent as last week. I’ve read that this is a big second trimester symptom (and depending on who you ask I’m still not even technically in the second tri!) so yay. I still haven’t caved to the tylenol yet though!
Leave a Reply

