RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 14

Officially in the second trimester!

Depending on who you ask, the second tri starts at 12 weeks, 13 weeks, 13-1/2 weeks or the start of the 14th week. Whatever, it’s definitely official. There’s no arguing with me!

PhotobucketAlso, this is the third “13” reference in three posts: today is Friday, January 13th! A lucky day to start the second trimester! There will be one more Friday the 13th (in April), before my Friday, July 13th due date. It’d be nice to make it that long (a full 40 weeks this time!) however then I’d have to miss my friend’s wedding which is the next day. Baby’s got some decisions to make. Ha.

Anyway, actual baby stuff: baby is now 3-1/2 inches long, about the size of a Rubik’s Cube! Kiddo1 asked for one of these last Christmas (and we obliged the request). Over a year later and still none of us can figure it out.

However, this week what I feel like I am figuring out is this whole “pregnancy thing.” First trimester symptoms are behind me: I didn’t ever experience morning sickness, but I did have to get used to being super thirsty and hungry all the time and the frequent bathroom breaks (including about three trips from my bed to the bathroom each night). I’ve learned to give in to *most* of my cravings and not force myself to eat certain things or at certain times if I’m not up for it (because I’ll just give up halfway through anyway and end up wasting food). Also, my cravings for beer and wine have finally subsided… for the most part.

Back around week 6 or 7, when I’d already gone over a month without my blessed beer, I was missing it big time. I know, I know, I’m engaged in an activity (that being person-growing) that is so much more important and satisfying than beer could ever be. I get that. However, that doesn’t mean I can’t miss what I love so much but cannot have! Just the sight of it for a little bit there was nearly heart-wrenching. It’s been so long now though that I know I can make it through the next six months just fine. Beer can wait until I’m ready to pump ‘n dump!

I’m used to carrying around a little more weight and knowing I have no where to go but heavier – and being more than okay with that! I’m used to forcing myself to exercise, but forcing to a point, however. I know that if I’m completely not feeling it then I shouldn’t force it, but that doesn’t give me an excuse to be lazy!

Most of all, I’m slowing getting used to the fact that our little family of three will soon be a family of four. Eeek! I said slowing getting used to it!

On to the weekly standards:

  • Total weight gain: 6 pounds now. That’s one pound a week for the last two weeks! Part of me hopes that pace doesn’t keep up, although with 26 weeks left I guess it wouldn’t be too bad.
  • Cravings: salads. I want to eat all the lettuce and spinach that I possibly can. Which I’m sure is a good thing, as long as I don’t overdue the Caesar dressing. Also, Mr. Handsome has been making me cheese and crackers plates in the evenings and I love them. I love him.
  • Coolest symptom: I’m probably crazy and making stuff up, but sometimes I think I can feel the slightest little movement in there. If I lie really still at night I could swear I feel it. I must be patient.
  • Lamest symptom: Gross alert, gross pregnant lady stuff about to be disclosed. Normally I poop every day, in the morning, right on schedule. This week I’ve been on an every-other-day sort of routine, and it can happen at any time of the day. This is totally normal, I know (damn progesterone), but it’s still lame. Gross time, over.

Science time, courtesy of babycenter.com:

This week’s big developments: Your baby can now squint, frown, grimace, pee, and possibly suck his or her thumb! Thanks to brain impulses, your baby’s facial muscles are getting a workout as tiny features form one expression after another. The kidneys are producing urine, which your baby releases into the amniotic fluid around him or her (this continues until birth). Your baby can grasp, too, and if you’re having an ultrasound now, you may even catch your little one sucking a thumb. In other news: Your baby’s stretching out. From head to bottom, he or she measures 3 1/2 inches – about the size of a lemon – and weighs 1 1/2 ounces. The body’s growing faster than the head, which now sits upon a more distinct neck. By the end of this week, your baby’s arms will have grown to a length that’s in proportion to the rest of his or her body. (The legs still have some lengthening to do.) And your baby’s starting to develop an ultra-fine, downy layer of hair, called lanugo, that covers the body. Your baby’s liver starts making bile this week – a sign that it’s doing its job right – and the spleen starts helping in the production of red blood cells. Though you can’t feel tiny punches and kicks yet, your little one’s hands and feet (which now measure about half an inch long) are more flexible and active.

Leave a Reply

