RSS Feed

Book Review: The Nine Pregnancy Countdown Journal

For my first book review, I’m not reviewing a book. Right… Instead I chose to tell you about the pregnancy journal that I purchased. There are a lot of pregnancy journals out there and they’re all so different. I’m not saying this is the best journal, but it is the best one for me. Find the one that works for you.

Photobucket

With that being said, here’s why this journal works so well for me: I need a topic. A jumping off point, if you will. If I’m to write every week about something that’s going on for nine whole months then I’ll get stuck in the same ol’, “um, I feel good I guess”-type of writing (I have to assign myself topics for this blog, too). This journal isn’t just blank pages: every week has a few simple lines that you complete. Usually it’s stuff like “what’s up with my bod, “my head,” and then something random like, “my better half” or “my friends.” Things I wouldn’t really think of unless someone asked me.

PhotobucketThere’s a page (front and back” for every week plus space for appointment updates, photos of yourself, headlines of the week, all kinds of stuff. At the end of the ninth month there are several pages to document the birthing experience and baby’s first picture, plus pages for reflection on the entire pregnancy experience. In the very back there are extra pages so you can log each and every check-up and ultrasound, if you want to.

I like that the journal is very well organized (OCD just like me) by month so when you look back at it later on when you baby is older (say, you’re pregnant again and want to remember the order of your symptoms in the first few weeks) you can flip right to the month you want. Plus it’s like a countdown of sorts; when I start a new month tab I do a little “happy dance” in celebration. I’m about to write in the first few pages of the fourth month (fourth month!) and it’s just amazing to see that there are three whole months down already!

This book is by husband and wife team David and Kelly Sopp (David does the design, Kelly writes the content). The graphic design is excellent (I did judge this book by its cover). I purchased the book on Amazon for about $12.

Next Review: A Child Is Born by Lennart Nilsson and Lars Hamberger

3 responses »

  1. Are all the pages right side up? I read a review saying that some pages were upside down.

    Reply
  2. Thank you for this review. I have just bought it and I can’t wait for it to arrive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

