RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 15

Week 15 already?! Geez, it feels like time is really cruising by. I remember back around week 6, begging time to move a bit faster so I could start telling people and showing. And now here we are, having done those things. Thank goodness there’s still a good chunk of time left. We’re not even halfway there yet!

PhotobucketThis week baby is 4 inches long, which is about as big as your standard incandescent light bulb (which you shouldn’t be using anymore but everyone knows how big they are!).

This week I’m a little frustrated with myself for my lack of exercise. I know how important it is to keep active: it’s good prep for the birth and it will help me recover and get back in shape so much faster.

But I’m so tired in the evenings! (And in the mornings I already struggle to get to work on time, so that’s out too.) I don’t mean, oh I’m pregnant and so tired! To be honest, I’ve always struggled to get going after work.

I need to find a good way to motivate myself. Maybe something like shopping or chocolatey treats! If I tell myself I can’t have something unless I exercised X number of times that week, that could be just the kick in the pants I need! We’ll see how that works this week…

Also, I need to shake it up a bit. Usually I just stick to my trusty elliptical machine, which we keep in the basement. It’s nice because it’s right there in our house and I can even watch Netflix on my phone while I do it! But it still gets boring. I have a prenatal yoga DVD that I should start using. The community center down the street from our house also does water aerobics; the pool is filled with a lot of white hair (if you know what I mean), but it’s low impact and it could be fun! If it really lacks excitement I could always just swim laps.

So we’ll see how those resolutions work this week. I’m hoping for the best!

Wrap-up time:

  • Total weight gain: 7 pounds!
  • Cravings: cheese. Since Mr. Handsome started with his nightly cheese and crackers plates I like, HAVE to have them now. Cheese is so tasty!
  • Coolest symptom: I still feel like there are tiny movements in there. I know they aren’t gas. I just have to wait a couple weeks to be sure I guess, then they’ll be stronger.
  • Lamest symptom: Really no new lame symptoms this week. And most of them (except last week’s, of course) have subsided.

Science time:

Your growing baby now measures about 4 inches long, crown to rump, and weighs in at about 2 1/2 ounces (about the size of an apple). He or she is busy moving amniotic fluid through the nose and upper respiratory tract, which helps the primitive air sacs in the lungs begin to develop. Your baby’s legs are growing longer than his or her arms now, and he or she can move all those tiny joints and limbs. Although your baby’s eyelids are still fused shut, he or she can sense light. If you shine a flashlight at your tummy, for instance, your baby is likely to move away from the beam. There’s not much for your baby to taste at this point, but taste buds are forming. Finally, if you have an ultrasound coming up, you may be able to find out whether your baby’s a boy or a girl! (Don’t be too disappointed if it remains a mystery, though. Nailing down your baby’s sex depends on the clarity of the picture and on your baby’s position. He or she may be modestly curled up or turned in such a way as to “hide the goods.”)

Leave a Reply

