RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 17

PhotobucketThat’s right: at five inches long, baby is about as big as a roll of toilet paper at week 17. A whole roll of toilet paper can fit in there?! No wonder I have to go to the bathroom all the time…

This week I felt a surge of energy return! I don’t know if it was all the exercising/yoga that I’ve been doing or just the fact that it’s about that time in a typical pregnancy when the first trimester energy drain subsides. Either way, I started to feel really good at the beginning of this week.

Then on Wednesday morning I woke up with a head cold. Boo! I’ve had such a great, sickness-free winter. I was kind of starting to take advantage of it, to be honest. I haven’t been taking my usual sickness precautions such as vitamin C, covering my ears outside (somehow this relates to colds for me), etc. I tried to consume lots of lemon tea (another one of my preventative remedies) on Tuesday to hold off what I already knew was inevitable, but to no avail.

This cold could be a lot worse than it is, though. I only really have a runny nose and the tension headache has been a constant for the last month or so anyway. I can’t complain. Plus, my energy level hasn’t dropped too much which has got to be a benefit of the exercise. Bonus!

Wrap-up time:

  • Total weight gain: 9 pounds.
  • Cravings: donuts and various breakfast pastries. There have been a lot of donuts/bagels in the office this week and I have indulged. It felt good.
  • Coolest symptom: Increased energy! Overall I’m feeling really good, despite the cold and below “lame” symptoms.
  • Lamest symptom: I still have the stabbing abdomen pain, although it is not as strong and is a daily, temporary occurrence. The headaches continue. Some lower back pain has kicked in too. That all sounds worse than it is, I swear.
  • Exercise this week: The goal is 210 minutes per week (that’s an average of 30 minutes per day). Last week I hit 135 minutes. This week’s total was 215 minutes! I did 35 of the elliptical and would have done more but my lower back was really giving me problems. The yoga made my back feel better so I did 180 minutes of that. I love it!

Let’s check in with baby’s development, courtesy babycenter.com:

Your baby’s skeleton is changing from soft cartilage to bone, and the umbilical cord – your baby’s lifeline to the placenta – is growing stronger and thicker. Your baby weighs 5 ounces now (about as much as a turnip) and is around 5 inches long from head to bottom. Your baby can move his or her joints, and sweat glands are starting to develop.

Leave a Reply

