RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 18

Photobucket18 Weeks! Baby is about 5.5 inches long which is the diameter of a standard cereal bowl, one that I like to fill to the brim with Cheerios. Mmmmm. They are a delicious whole wheat snack!

This week I kicked my stretch mark prevention routine into high gear. I have a morning and night routine that I’ve finally been able to be consistent about.

A few weeks ago I was reading about how vitamin E oil was great at preventing stretch marks. Makes complete sense – that’s usually the stuff in serious lotions and skin repair treatments. It was recommended to get some vitamin E capsules, break them open with a pin and slather that oil all over your growing belly. So that’s what I did.

This method seemed to work pretty well. Breaking the capsules open was a bit odd (sometimes they broke in a spot other than where I placed the pin, due to the pressure, and a bit of oil would shoot across the room!) but the routine was otherwise easy. Then, about a week into it, I started to get an eczema-like rash on my sides, where I applied the oil directly prior to smoothing it around. Sad face. I quit using the oil right then. Maybe it was just too concentrated for my skin. I do have slightly sensitive, very pale skin. I didn’t research this much, I just tossed it aside as a failed option.

After a week or so the rash cleared up and I was free to start a new routine. I decided to go with the same stuff as last time, Palmer’s Cocoa Butter. I had really great results last time: I do have a few light marks on my sides and the upper half of my bottom, however in Palmer’s defense I only really concentrated my efforts on my belly itself. Another one of the things I didn’t realize nine years ago: stretch marks can appear anywhere. Plus, last time I didn’t start my routine until around 30 weeks, after some marks on my backside had already shown up. This time my routine includes using a bit more product and slathering it on every thing from my breasts to my bum and from side to side (all the way to the parts of my back that I can reach).

Stretch marks are hereditary. My mom had them so I consider myself very lucky for getting away with only a few after Baby1. I attribute that to my deligent routine with Palmer’s. I really hope that my nine-years-older skin will have even better results this time. Stretch carefully precious skin!

Some statistics:

  • Total weight gain: 11 pounds! I skipped right over 10 pounds. I blame this on fatty Super Bowl foods.
  • Cravings: Nothing in particular this week. Maybe Pita Pit. And cookies (the mint chocolate crinkle from Panera – drool).
  • Coolest symptom: My headaches seem to have subsided. They aren’t gone completely but they are a lot less frequent. That isn’t really a symptom but I think it’s cool! I’d like to say this is due to all the yoga… My back has been feeling slightly better too.
  • Lamest symptom: The stabbing abdomen pain has also lessened. Yet the main lame symptom is that I feel like I’m suffering from major pregnancy brain. Even work projects have suffered the wrath of my blood-relocation-induced stupidity. I hate blaming it on pregnancy but I have no other explanation!
  • Exercise this week: The goal is 210 minutes per week (that’s an average of 30 minutes per day). Last week I hit 215. This week was 210 exactly, which I am very proud of myself for considering I also fought a cold for a few days. All exercise was yoga except for 45 minutes of vigorous vacuuming which I’m totally counting as cardio (I mean, it did make me sweat!).

Here’s what’s new with Baby2, courtesy babycenter.com:

Head to rump, your baby is about 5 1/2 inches long (about the length of a bell pepper) and weighs almost 7 ounces. She or he is busy flexing arms and legs – movements that you’ll start noticing more and more in the weeks ahead. Your baby’s blood vessels are visible through thin skin, and his or her ears are now in their final position, although they’re still standing out from the head a bit. A protective covering of myelin is beginning to form around his or her nerves, a process that will continue for a year after your baby is born. If you’re having a girl, her uterus and fallopian tubes are formed and in place. If you’re having a boy, his genitals are noticeable now, but he may hide them from you during an ultrasound.

Leave a Reply

