RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 20

Week 20, “the halfway point,” is here! Earlier this week, while talking to a co-worker, I referred to this time as the “golden period” in pregnancy. Think about it: you’re not too big yet but big enough to for others to safely assume you’re pregnant, the baby moves around and you can feel it, lame symptoms have pretty much subsided, energy levels are high, the “worries of birth” are not yet threatening, I mean, it’s a pretty great time.

PhotobucketThis week baby is about 6-1/2 inches long which is the approximate height of a standard birthday hat. Why did I pick a birthday hat this week? Because today is my 31st birthday! Yay! I love birthdays, and the past couple years they’ve been especially great because I’ve discovered all the free stuff you can get around your birthday if you sign up. I get a free entree at Noodles & Co, a local pasta place, Benihana’s, a free drink at Starbucks, goodies at Sephora and a free scoop of ice cream at Baskin Robins (although I’m boycotting them since they discontinued my favorite flavor, Chocolate Fudge. I nearly cried). There’s way more free stuff out there, you just have to search the web for it.

I love all the free birthday stuff, but this week and from now on, really, I’m trying to be a bit more careful about what I’m eating. Super Bowl Sunday fatty foods plus Valentine’s day candy was a bad combination for my weight gain the last couple weeks. I gained five pounds pretty quickly there. This week I’ve been better and my weight reflects that (see below).

I’ve always been a bad vegetable eater. I thought maybe, just maybe, I could will myself into craving super healthy foods during this pregnancy. Well, no such luck. I am capable of eating a vegetable a day (or so) so that is the goal. I tend to lean toward the green leafies (I love spinach) or “green stringies” such as asparagus and green beans. I like carrots, too. Today at work we’re having a pot luck and someone is bringing eggplant parmigiana so I’m excited to finally try eggplant!

I’m also trying really, really hard to limit my chocolate/sweets intake. I’m craving chocolate like no other now, though, so I still allow myself a little bit every day, but only one thing! So if I indulge at work and have some dark chocolate pieces, I can’t have ice cream that night. So far it is working pretty well (it’ll work a lot better once we get these girl scout cookies gone!).

So yeah, happy healthy birthday to me! Today we’re not doing much but tomorrow I have a haircut and I might stop to get a pedicure on the way back home. I might do some shopping around to get a picture framed for the nursery too. Monday we’re going out to dinner at Mr. Handsome’s restaurant which I’m so excited about. They do a prix fixe menu twith a twist and literally bring you every item on the dinner menu (it is a small menu, but all their food is delightful!). I’m getting ready to eat a lot of great (and mostly healthy!) food.

Some statistics for the week:

  • Total weight gain: 15 pounds. Woohoo only one pound gained this week! I’m back on track!
  • Cravings: Lots of chocolate, but also pasta, of course. I’m not really craving anything out of the ordinary this week. I mean, I’ve always wanted chocolate and pasta!
  • Coolest symptom: Woohoo more kicking! Sometimes I even feel it in the day now, when I’m not lying completely still! It’s awesome to feel the baby move and know that things are still going on in there.
  • Lamest symptom: You know, I’m really feeling pretty great this week! Headaches are pretty much gone, stabbing abdomen/round ligament pain has mostly subsided (I’m drinking lots of water!) and my back hasn’t been bothering me TOO much (but still a bit here and there). It really is the “golden period” right now!
  • Exercise this week: The goal is 210 minutes per week (that’s an average of 30 minutes per day). This week the count is a little odd because I’m sorta counting the class field trip I chaperoned – we did about three hours of walking downtown, seeing the sights. I’m also counting another rigorous vacuuming session. Those two things together are about four hours, but I’m only counting 90 minutes of field trip and 30 minutes of vacuuming because counting more than than just seems unfair for some reason. Yoga and arm exercises rounded out the week for a total of 215! Yay!

Here’s what’s new with baby:

Your baby weighs about 10 1/2 ounces now. He or she is around 6 1/2 inches long from head to bottom and about 10 inches from head to heel – the length of a banana. (For the first 20 weeks, when a baby’s legs are curled up against his or her torso and hard to measure, measurements are taken “crown to rump” – from the top of the head to your baby’s bottom. After 20 weeks, your baby’s measured from head to toe.) Your baby is swallowing more these days, which is good practice for the digestive system. He or she is also producing meconium, a black, sticky by-product of digestion. This gooey substance will accumulate in your baby’s bowels, and you’ll see it in that first soiled diaper. (Some babies pass meconium in the womb or during delivery).

2 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday! I’m at 13 weeks and am really looking forward to actually looking pregnant!

    Reply
    • Thank you! Ah, 13 weeks, it seems like I was just there myself. The time flies. You’ll be bumping it up before you know it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

