RSS Feed

Successful Ultrasound!

It’s late (after 9 pm!) but I promised myself I’d get his out today before I forget about the excitement of this afternoon.

We’re having a GIRL! That’s right, apparently it is entirely possible for Mr. Handsome’s and my very male-dominated family lines to produce an actual female!

We had a great ultrasound and, from where I was sitting, everything looked perfect. The tech didn’t seem to hint anything out of the ordinary, but we don’t have our midwife appointment and official results until later in the week. I also had a vaginal ultrasound at the very end (ugh) which actually I would have requested anyway because I really wanted to make sure my cervix was getting long enough. I had a LEEP procedure back in 2003 so since a tiny part of ma’lady is gone now there’s a small chance I could develop complications/preterm labor because of a short cervix. The tech measured my cervix at 3.2 cm which is above where the “danger zone” starts at 2.5 cm, so I should be okay. The midwife could request another ultrasound in the third trimester, but we’ll just have to wait and see for that. Cervix, cervix, cervix (I feel like I just typed that word a whole bunch there).

Anyway, back to the good stuff. So it was a great scan! Kiddo1 came with (he and Mr. Handsome went outside during the second ultrasound, I you’re curious) and he even smiled a bit when he was told he’ll have a sister (which, if you know Kiddo1, is a pretty high level of excitement). We got all kinds of awesome pictures of Baby2’s profile, spine and even her feet! Her heart looked amazing, it seems like we saw that a good half of the time that we were there (I hope that’s not a bad sign now that I think about it). I may share pictures, I haven’t decided. Ultrasound pictures kind of weird me out. I have to stop thinking about how it’s my uterus on display…

After the ultrasound fun we went to Mr. Handsome’s restaurant to eat all the food. All the food on the menu, that is. I mentioned this the other day when I was talking about my birthday food. Mr. Handsome’s restaurant cooks up some good grub. It’s fancy but not TOO fancy, you know? They brought us so much food! Luckily they stretched it out over a 2.5 hour meal, plus I tried to be pretty conservative though so I wouldn’t get another round of indigestion. I’m feeling pretty good (all I feel in my belly right now is a bunch of baby kicks from my little girl!) so it was a successful meal both during and after!

After that we came home and I had a totsy email (that site is dangerous when it’s good) about Big Buddha bags, which I have two of and have carried for the past two years. 50% off! Steal! So I bought this one:

Photobucket

And threw in this too:

Photobucket

I’m going to be dangerous I think…

6 responses »

  1. Yay! A girl. Very exciting for you guys. I love the bag. Very cute!

    Reply
  2. Congratulations! So exciting.

    I love, love, love that bag.

    Reply
  3. AHHH congrats! Little girls are so much fun.

    Also, it only gets more dangerous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

