RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 21

PhotobucketShe’s as long as my water bottle this week! 10-1/2 whole inches! This is my water bottle and I love it so much. I carry it with me everywhere and try desperately not to loose it!

Hold on – as long as my water bottle?! Whoa. Super whoa.

Baby’s size may seem to have jumped dramatically since last week’s birthday hat to this week’s water bottle. Apparently the reason for this is that baby is too difficult to measure from head to feet up until week 20, so measurements are always listed as “head to rump” until that point. From now on though, baby is measured from head to foot. Of course, growth rates after the first trimester do vary, so these measurements are really just an average and a way to have fun finding comparably-sized objects!

This we week had two appointments up at the hospital, one for our ultrasound and one regular midwife visit. We’re getting to know the campus a little better but Mr. Handsome is still a bit worried that he’ll get us lost on the way to deliver! We’re delivering at the university hospital and it is huge! By far the most sprawling hospital campus I’ve ever seen before. It’s kind of intimidating but, at the same time, every possible medical situation will be covered if we need it. And we get all the benefits of having the midwives too, like being able to labor freely without monitoring or an IV and the option to have a waterbirth (which I will probably write about in more detail in a couple months).

A few highlights from the 20-week appointment:

  • My uterus is up to belly button level now!
  • Midwife says my diet is pretty good, but if I want to keep my weight manageable I need to ease up on the carbs and replace them with vegetables. More salads, less pasta. I will work on that. (After the appointment we went out for pizza and I had a big spinach salad instead of a slice. So, pat on the back for me, eh?)
  • Baby2’s heartbeat is great! She was moving around SO much that they (midwife + student) didn’t do an official count but they didn’t really need to – no cause for worry there.
  • The ultrasound pictures were reviewed and they said she looks perfect! No problems whatsoever, which was music to our ears of course. They didn’t even have a problem with my slightly short cervical length (3.2 cm, average is 4, danger zone kicks in at 2.5).
  • I told them more about my headaches (which have subsided a bit), stabbing abdomen pain and lower back pain. They agreed with previous assessments about the abs from when I’ve called in 2-3 times previously: as long as I’m not doubled over in pain or having contractions, it’s probably just round ligament or related pain and nothing to worry about. It’s weird but no worries. Stay hydrated is the constant refrain when it comes to prevention (and it really does work because I notice a lot fewer lame symptoms if I’m well hydrated for several days).

Some statistics for the week:

  • Total weight gain: 16 pounds. Only one pound again this week, despite the large amounts of birthday food consumed. I attribute that feat to getting back on the elliptical! Plus I did a fairly good job at holding back on the sweets this week, again despite the birthday.
  • Cravings: Carbs, any carbs. They’re so tasty! And ice cream. Ooooo, ice cream (control, fading. must. resist. the freezer).
  • Coolest symptom: Seeing our beautiful baby girl at the ultrasound was a pretty sweet symptom of pregnancy! Both times that I was on the exam table this week, she started kicking like crazy as soon as I reclined back. The tech and the midwife said she’s a mover and a shaker for sure!
  • Lamest symptom: On Sunday I bought a size 36D bra. It fit fine then. It’s too small now. Bring on the DDs. (I believe Mr. Handsome sees this as a good thing though, of course.)
  • Exercise this week: The goal is 210 minutes per week (that’s an average of 30 minutes per day). This week I was super, super bad. Friday, Monday and Wednesday night we were out late (like, 8 pm!) and once I get home and get Kiddo1 to bed and take care of other things it’s time to go to bed myself. The weekend was totally shot – I just never seem to find the time amongst the errands, projects, cleaning, etc. I need to really work on that if I plan on meeting my goal next week. I almost gave up on exercise completely this week but I did manage to get in a total of 115 minutes, 45 of yoga, 10 of arms and 60 on the elliptical. I should be proud of myself for getting back on the elliptical, so I don’t feel like a total exercise failure this week.

Baby2 did not fail to grow and change this week though! Here’s what’s new with HER, courtesy babycenter.com:

Your baby now weighs about three-quarters of a pound and is approximately 10 1/2 inches long – the length of a carrot. You may soon feel like he or she is practicing martial arts as initial fluttering movements turn into full-fledged kicks and nudges. You may also discover a pattern to your baby’s activity as you get to know him or her better. In other developments, your baby’s eyebrows and lids are present now, and if you’re having a girl, her vagina has begun to form.

Leave a Reply

