RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 23

PhotobucketThis week baby is about as long as a size 8 pump – if you measured said pump from toe to ball and ball to heel, of course. If you measured directly from toe to heel it’s like 10 inches. So, you know, measure strategically.

These almost look like the pumps I wear to work sometimes – except they are Louboutons and I can’t afford those. But I will drool over this picture a little bit.

Speaking of work, it has been uber crazy this week. Like, super duper crazy. I feel like it has occupied all of my free time since I get home later and am slightly more frazzled in the evenings.

I’ve been on this project for awhile and it has finally reached the implementation phase. I’ve been thrust into this phase way more than I thought I would be so I was fairly unprepared. Luckily it will calm down a bit today and even more next week. By the end of March it should be smooth sailing – actually it had better be because I’m taking the last week of March off for Spring Break.

I love being manageably busy at work. It makes the day go by faster, to be honest. But I hate when I’m crazy busy at work. I haven’t had time to check my phone for messages from my husband or even step out to grab some lunch (which sucks because I’m starving again, see below). Luckily there are lots of places that deliver and I’ve gotten very comfortable with my morning breakfast sandwich routine (I cook a couple eggs before I leave the house and toast them with some bread in the toaster oven at work. Mmmm morning protein). Since there’s so little time in the day I have to do a whole bunch of extra stuff when I get home, like check my email and return phone calls (cause, you know, everyone calls me all the time. Okay I guess I don’t spend much time returning phone calls). The point is, this crazy busy crap throws off my whole day, both at work and at home. But I do kind of enjoy it a little bit. To a point.

Despite the craziness that has spilled over in my evening time, I have still managed to get things done at home and even fit in some exercise. I ordered more things for Baby2’s room that I can work on over Spring Break like supplies for the mobile project that I mentioned in my framing post. Plus I ordered two new posters to frame because I just felt like my existing art posters didn’t have the right colors AND there was really no “girl” component to the whole room. I’m excited to show off what has been completed when I’m done with it!

Here are some actually pregnancy-related things that happened this week:

  • Total weight gain: I think 17 pounds. It fluctuates between 17 and 18. I’m going to give myself 17. A week without measurable weight gain is okay with me!
  • Cravings: Food. Any food. I’m freaking starving this week! My appetite seemed to have normalized over the past month but now it is back with a vengeance! I think my co-workers have probably gotten really tired of hearing me say, “I’m hungry” several times a day.
  • Coolest symptom: Lots, lots, lots more kicks!
  • Lamest symptom: I’m struggling the think of something again. The second trimester is really pretty cool.
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes): 215 minutes! Yoga dominated this week with 180 minutes. I also managed 35 minutes of arm exercises – I’m determined to develop nice arms by the summer!

Here’s the latest on baby’s developments, courtesy babycenter.com:

Turn on the radio and sway to the music. With a sense of movement well developed by now, your baby can feel you dance. And now that he or she’s more than 11 inches long and weighs just over a pound (about as much as a large mango), you may be able to see him or her squirm underneath your clothes. Blood vessels in your baby’s lungs are developing to prepare for breathing, and his or her hearing is becoming more keen. In fact, your baby’s cochlea – the inner ear mechanism that houses all components of hearing – is fully formed. So he or she can hear what you hear, but not at the same level. (Sounds and voices are muffled by the muscles and tissues around your belly, the placenta, and the amniotic fluid.)

Leave a Reply

