RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 26

PhotobucketThis groovy fetus is now about 14 inches long or the size of typical lava lamp – this one looks a lot like the one Mr. Handsome got me for Christmas last year!

Speaking of groovy, I’ve been working on getting back into my own groove of a routine this week after having last week off work for Spring Break. I don’t remember it always taking so much effort to get back into routine, but this week has been a struggle. I’ve barely been able to make it out of bed on time let alone focus on work and contribute to the household (and my exercise) when I get home. It’s been a mess of a week!

It’s funny how quickly a routine can collapse if just a few key triggers aren’t followed. I didn’t realize how much my day-to-day life really does revolve around my work schedule. It regulates when I wake up, when I eat, when other stuff (non-work) gets done, when I exercise, all that.

That makes me kind of wonder about how different life will be while I’m out on maternity leave. I’m super excited for a couple months off and for being able to spend time with my TWO kids – and for having a summer break this year! But if I don’t get myself into a solid routine fairly quickly I’m afraid things will just fall apart! Of course, by quickly I don’t mean the minute we return from the hospital, more like within a week or two. As long as I establish something to keep me from going crazy!

Speaking of routines, here’s the routine weekly wrap-up:

  • Total weight gain: 21 pounds. And I’m totally zen about it.
  • Cravings: I’m trying to convince myself that I’m craving healthy things. So I’m craving healthy things. Mostly. I have found an affinity for almonds this week as well as quinoa. I had a salad with quinoa the other day, it was nice.
  • Coolest symptom: It isn’t a symptom, but I have found a way to trick myself into thinking I’m sleeping on my stomach, which is my favorite sleep position. I just stick one knee out like a kick stand. I don’t think this will last forever, but it is nice for now. I remember missing stomach sleeping more than beer toward the end of pregnancy with Kiddo1. And right now I really miss beer so that’s saying a lot!
  • Lamest symptom: I’ve started having a tad bit more trouble using my abdominals to sit up for getting out of bed, off the couch, etc. I’m going to have to start rolling on to my side. Not pretty.
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes): Well, I wasn’t as bad as last week, but clearly I’m having trouble getting back into routine on the exercise front. I only got in 140 minutes, or 2/3 of the way to goal. Eh, there’s always next week!

Baby2 certainly stuck to her routine; here are some of her new developments, courtesy babycenter.com:

The network of nerves in your baby’s ears is better developed and more sensitive than before. He or she may now be able to hear both your voice and your partner’s as you chat with each other. Your baby is inhaling and exhaling small amounts of amniotic fluid. These so-called breathing movements are essential for the development of the lungs. These are also good practice for when your baby is born and takes that first gulp of air.  Your baby is continuing to put on fat. He or she now weighs about 1 2/3 pounds and measures 14 inches (an English hothouse cucumber) from head to heel.

Leave a Reply

