RSS Feed

Book Review: Choosing Waterbirth

A few years ago, a friend of Mr. Handsome and mine told us her waterbirth story (over beers you tend to talk about anything after awhile!). It was such an amazing story that I swore right then and there that I would pursue the waterbirth option in the future if given the chance.

Now that I have been given the chance, ie we are pregnant, have a healthy pregnancy, are seeing the hospital midwives, etc, I’m totally taking the opportunity to birth this way.

Naturally, I’ve been looking for books on waterbirth to supplement the class we’ll be taking in June, however these books are a bit few and far between. Waterbirth isn’t anything new but it has been somewhat slow to gain frequency, especially in this country. I’ve been cruising the local library looking for books on waterbirth. So far I’ve found two so I’ll be reviewing those over the next week or so.

PhotobucketThe first book I found is Choosing Waterbirth: Reclaiming the Sacred Power of Birth by Lakshmi Bertram.

This was a good book for not just an overview and testimony of waterbirth but also preparation for birth and some postpartum tips as well. It has a very “free spirit” sort of vibe – this is good for natural childbirth, of course, but it is very noticible in this book!

The author very much emphasizes natural methods of relaxation not only during birth but as preparation for birth and dealing with day-to-day life in general. There’s a whole chapter on yoga poses which are illustrated and explained well. Plus, it made me feel good that most of the poses I already incorporate in my yoga routine. She also gives a couple great birthing exercises that I’ve been using. They are great!

The chapters on waterbirth helped to answer a lot of the questions I’ve had about this method, such as how big the tub should be, how high the water level should be, when to get in the tub, when to get out, etc. There’s information on some of the perceived risks and how the mother’s body and the baby’s instincts mitigate these risks (such as how babies won’t try to breath in the water and how low the risk of infection is). The chapter on the three stages of labor and delivery was also excellent.

The author publishes six waterbirth stories – all five of her own children’s births plus her sister’s waterbirth. I love reading birth stories. It’s great to hear a first-hand experience. For me, I can’t imagine a better way to prepare than by learning from others’ stories.

This book is a great overview of waterbirth. It helped to answer some of my questions and it gave me enough knowledge to think of more questions, which I think is great. I hope the next waterbirth book helps to give me even more knowledge about what I’m wanting to get myself into. By the time our class roles around in June (and our birth in July!) I think I will be a well-prepared student.

Next Review: Active Birth: The New Approach to Giving Birth Naturally by Janet Balaskas

3 responses »

  1. It is great that you are considering a water birth. I wish that I would have done a water birth instead of going the traditional hospital route. I have yet to talk to someone that did not love their water birth expereince but you certainly do talk to a lot of women who are not thrilled with how their hospital birth went.

    Reply
  2. Hooray! I’m doing a water birth too, at a local birth center. SUPER excited about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

