RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 28

PhotobucketWeek 28! Baby is almost 15 inches long! I struggled to find an object that is just shy of 15 inches this week, but I ultimately settled on the 15-inch Macbook Pro because it kept coming up in the Google search results when I asked dear Google for assistance. I don’t have this laptop to verify whether or not it is just under 15 inches, I’m still rocking a six-year-old 12″ iBook G4 (aw hells yeah). This sleek picture of the Pro makes me want a new laptop though. Must. Resist.

While baby is almost 15 inches long, week 28 is solid third trimester territory. There’s debate about when the third trimester starts, just like there is for the second. I suppose you could say it starts at 26 weeks 4 days, or 27 weeks to make it even, but I wanted to give myself until week 28 for a few reasons. One, to stretch out the “golden time” of the second trimester that much more. Two, to make the third trimester feel like it just flies by. Three, because this way today could be both a trimester milestone AND Mr. Handsome’s and my anniversary (post coming about that tomorrow).

As you may know, the third trimester, when compared to the second, is not all non-alcoholic wine and roses. There are some things the third trimester is notorious for, and I somewhat fear (although fear may be too strong of a word):

  • More indigestion, which coincidentally has been occurring more frequently this week.
  • More farting (I had it BAD in third tri with Kiddo1. Although this time I’ve figured out that chocolate/sugar really triggers my gas, so I’m closer to being able to control it). I am silent but deadly.
  • More exhaustion. I don’t think I was all that tired in the first tri but I do remember taking lunchtime naps with Kiddo1 when I was in the third tri last time – yes I was that tired.
  • More Braxton Hicks, which I don’t remember having very many of at all with Kiddo1 but now I already have them ALL THE TIME.
  • More nighttime potty breaks (why does this have to correlate with the sleepy times of the first and third trimester?!).
  • More biggering. Most people say the last couple months is when their weight gain got out of control. My control has been great so far, if I do say so myself, so hopefully that will continue.

There are good things though, right?

  • Awesome kicks that make it seem like baby is trying to escape. Kiddo1 liked to stick out an elbow or knee sometimes and I would gently push him back. That sort of interaction is pretty cool.
  • Finishing projects! The feeling of everything coming together!
  • Finalizing names. I think we’ve agreed on a middle name already!
  • Everything starting to feel more real. So we’re really having another kid, eh? No turning back now!
  • Viability, just in case someone decides to join us really early (not too early please!).
  • Being that much closer to a precious cold beer baby snuggle. (Who am I kidding, the beer takes a close second sometimes!)

Here are some more pros and cons, but about the past (this week) rather then the future:

  • Total weight gain: The scale has said it’s been a solid 22 pounds for the past couple days. I can’t begin to say how happy I am with the scale. That means I only gained half a pound each week for the last two weeks – baby put on a half pound herself in that same amount of time!
  • Cravings: Honestly, I don’t really have much in the way of cravings. I have something each week that I seem to like a little more than other things, but I don’t particularly crave anything. That seems to be people’s favorite question to ask lately, though, “What weird foods are you eating?!?!?!” Ugh, I don’t eat weird foods. The strangest thing I’ve eaten through this whole pregnancy is a hamburger (I don’t usually eat ground beef). Vent over.
  • Coolest symptom: Overall, I just feel good. Sure there’s indigestion and I’m a bit more tired but growing a person is pretty dang cool. I like being pregnant. Despite what some of my “lame symptom” updates might say! There’s just a special feeling I have when I’m pregnant, I can’t describe it. Like glowing from within or something. I like it. It almost makes me not miss beer!
  • Lamest symptom: How is it possible to feel full and hungry at the same time? I can be completely stuffed but I want to put food in my mouth. What is that all about? And I don’t know if I’ve posted about it before, but sometimes I think I can feel myself getting bigger – my belly expanding, skin stretching. I don’t know if it is in my head or not but the fact is that I AM getting bigger so it wouldn’t be that weird if I could feel it, right?
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes): It was a very cardio-filled week! We rode our bikes to one of Kiddo1’s soccer games (yep, still on my bike with a seven-month belly! Kind of weird but awesome!) and I went to water aerobics again and had an extra evening of swimming with Kiddo1 (he and Mr. Handsome couldn’t come with on my usually water aerobics night because he had cavities filled a couple hours before). I did some elliptical and a whole lot of active soccer practice for 235 minutes of total exercise this week! I only fit in 15 minutes of light yoga, which has been a bit more difficult lately. I hope to post a yoga update soon…

Finally, here’s a baby development update, courtesy babycenter.com:

By this week, your baby weighs 2 1/4 pounds (like a Chinese cabbage) and measures 14.8 inches from the top of the head to the heels. Your baby can blink his or her eyes, which now sport lashes. With increasingly developed eyesight, your baby may be able to see the light that filters in through your womb. Your baby’s also developing billions of neurons in his or her brain and adding more body fat in preparation for life in the outside world.

2 responses »

  1. In the third trimester the full vs. hungry thing was so frustrating. I would feel so hungry and get a big giant plate of food and then when I started eating I would feel full so fast and then get horrible indigestion. Someone told me Tums Smoothies were the best thing ever for indigestion and they helped some but it was still pretty bad at the end.

    Glad you are feeling that glowing, happy, I am about to be a mommy feeling though. That makes everything else worth it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

