RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 29

I don’t know what the hell kind of object is just over 15 inches long. Google sucks at telling me this. I’ve got things that are 14 inches, 14-1/2 inches, 16 inches, but apparently only last week’s 15″ Macbook Pro is 15 inches. So I’m saving myself the heartache and forgoing an object comparison this week. Sigh.

Anyway, at just over 15 inches, Baby2 only gained a bit less than half and inch in the 29th week, but she did gain another quarter pound!

To accompany Baby2’s crazy growth, Mr. Handsome’s and my schedules have been doing some crazy growing of their own. This week has just been a major juggling act. Mr. Handsome is moving to a new restaurant (same owner/company, just better management personnel and structure) so he’s pretty much working double time because he’s awesome and won’t leave the new place without the two (or I think he gave them three?) weeks notice. He’s working every day for 16 or 17 days straight. Great money, and we could use it going into my 10-week maternity leave of which I’m only paid for six weeks. But it wreaks havoc on our schedules.

Plus this week Kiddo1 was sick again (his ear infection from last week cleared up but now he has a bad cold and swelling in the other ear) so Mr. Handsome stayed home with him Monday (he had the day shift off) and I took over at night. I stayed home with him Tuesday and Mr. Handsome took over at night so I could go to my group midwife appointment. Wednesday he got out of his night shift so I could go to water aerobics. Thursday and Friday he worked a double shift and he will work Saturday evening and Sunday brunch. This weekend we also have a soccer game for Kiddo1, I have an event to go to a big consignment sale with my Moms Group and I need to find time to get to all the projects that I’ve been woefully neglecting. Deep breath.

Speaking of scheduling, one of the things on our vast third trimester to do list is to figure out when our parents and families are coming to visit. My parents have surprisingly been very easy. They’re short on vacation time from their jobs so they’re meeting my requirement of visiting after I’ve had a couple days to recover and not staying too long (I’m going for quality not quantity!). Mr. Handsome’s parents have not been so easy because they’re retired and have all the time in the world. I love my parents and in-laws, don’t get me wrong, but I can’t handle people visiting for more than a week. I get this emotional claustrophobia and I start to become unpleasant to be around. I fear my emotions will be all screwy to begin with, what with just having pushed out a human and all. So we’ll see how that all turns out.

Here are some other events of the week:

  • Total weight gain: 24 pounds. I am still averaging a pound a week, even though there were two weeks of a half pound gain (each week) and then this last week of two pounds gained, it all evens out. I shouldn’t be surprised about the two pounds, and I really am okay with it, but I was a little sad when I stepped on the scale on Monday (I weigh myself Monday through Friday, so Monday usually brings the biggest change).
  • Cravings: Honey Nut Cheerios are the best breakfast cereal ever. Except for maybe regular Cheerios.
  • Coolest symptom: At Tuesday’s check-up it was determined that Baby2’s head is down (I think it has been for several weeks, it was down at our ultrasound), her back/bottom is on my right side with her feet on my left. This makes complete sense because I feel the strongest kicks on my left side, light ones on my lower right (those must be little arms) and an odd rotating session very low, like her head or shoulders are slowly rotating. The latter movement is the weirdest one.
  • Lamest symptom: I only have to look at food to get indigestion.
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes): 210 exactly, and I feel like I just barely made it. I’m still not doing well at finding time to exercise on the weekends and, as you can read above, the weeks are getting busier so I’m not exercising every night either. My saviors this week were water aerobics (mandatory 60 minutes), soccer practice (another 60 minutes) and my renewed commitment to arm exercises (I did three days, 10 minutes each day). Rounding out the week was 75 minutes of yoga (two sessions of 30 and 45 minutes).

Finally, here’s a baby development update, courtesy babycenter.com:

Your baby now weighs about 2 1/2 pounds (like a butternut squash) and is a tad over 15 inches long from head to heel. Muscles and lungs are continuing to mature, and your baby’s head is growing bigger to make room for that developing brain. To meet your baby’s increasing nutritional demands, you’ll need plenty of protein, vitamin C, folic acid, and iron. And because his or her bones are soaking up lots of calcium, be sure to drink your milk (or find another good source of calcium, such as cheese, yogurt, or enriched orange juice). This trimester, about 250 milligrams of calcium are deposited in your baby’s hardening skeleton each day.

Leave a Reply

