RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 30

PhotobucketThis week’s baby-to-object comparison takes me back to my architecture school days, as baby is the length of a concrete masonry block: just shy of 16 inches long! These blocks are about 16x8x8 (15-5/8″x7-5/8″x7-5/8″ to be precise). In school I used to measure the height and width of masonry walls by counting the bricks. Everywhere Mr. Handsome and I would go I would stare at the walls, counting. He’s happy that I’ve grown out of that habit now.

Happiness is just one of the many emotions going on in the house this week. I feel extremely lucky to have not been extremely emotional throughout this whole pregnancy. I didn’t have the first trimester angry fest that some women have (cough-Jenny McCarthy-cough). Or any of the wild mood swings that typically accompany pregnancy (although I can’t say I’ve experienced this first- or second-hand from any pregnancy person I’ve known, so I’m not sure where this impression comes from).

This week I see myself starting to just barely tip over the large incline at the beginning of the emotional roller-coaster. I remember with Kiddo1 my emotions started at about the 30th week, mostly with crying at silly things like TV commercials. Long-distance commercials (sappy), diaper commercials, I don’t know, probably car commercials and Doritos ads, too. Who knows, but my reaction was mostly not justifiable.

Plus, Mr. Handsome has still been working a lot (which is supposed to let up this week) and I realize just how much I miss him when he’s gone so much. I think the week has been good for me to do a lot of the things myself that he normally does like cook dinner, wash the dishes, do the laundry, help Kiddo1 with his homework, do the grocery shopping, basically all the daily things that normal people do. Why do I not do those things more often? I have no idea.

With the good of independence comes the bad of detachment from my best friend, the person I like to regurgitate my day to and who generally makes me feel awesome and loved and all that. I do miss that and it has made me a little sad, disconnected, etc.

Other than my emotions, Kiddo1 has started asking interesting questions this week that make me feel like he’s experiencing a small bit of anxiety about his impending siblinghood. I can’t blame him: he’s lived his whole life as an only child and that is about to change. He’s asking things like, “Will you still love me when the baby comes?” and that breaks my heart a little. It’s a completely logical question for a child to ask, but it’s sad that the thought would ever enter his mind at all. I think it is difficult for a child to understand that love can grow instead of divide.

Plus Mr. Handsome and I really don’t have experiences of our own to draw from here. I was only three when my little brother arrived – I don’t remember a damn thing other than I got to get my ears pierced. Mr. Handsome is the youngest child in his family so he was born into siblinghood.

So we continue to answer Kiddo1’s question with as much love and understanding as we can, and we continue to talk him through each new thing that comes up so he is fully prepared. That’s all I think we can do but I think it helps every time we talk about it. However he still answers third party’s question of “Are you excited?” with a flat-out “NO.” Eh, what are you gonna do right?

Anyway, let’s go through the weekly wrap-up, shall we?

  • Total weight gain: still 24 pounds! No noticeable weight gain this week – the scale has held quite steady at 138 pounds. Yet Baby2 gained another quarter pound on her own. Good job baby girl!
  • Cravings: Panera’s Mac N Cheese has been calling my name all week. I have succumbed twice but I’ve limited myself to a small bowl. (With a baguette. An apple would be better, I know, but an apple isn’t quite as good as the bread dipped in the cheese. Droooool.)
  • Coolest symptom: My belly moves when she kicks sometimes. I’m waiting for people other than me to notice this.Photobucket
  • Lamest symptom: There is nothing lamer than not being able to eat. This is the second week in a row that indigestion is my lamest symptom. On the plus side: it could be a lot worse!
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes): 225 minutes, but I’m a little disappointed at my cardio-to-yoga ratio. Only 30 minutes of yoga, so I’ve got to work on that. My ideal scenario would be alternating yoga and cardio. I did do a great job at getting exercise over the weekend, though, so, you know, baby steps. Kiddo1 and I went on a nice bike ride to dinner last Friday night and he snapped this picture of me.

Finally, let’s check in with Baby2’s progress, courtesy babycenter.com:

Your baby’s about 15.7 inches long now, and he or she weighs almost 3 pounds (like a head of cabbage). A pint and a half of amniotic fluid surrounds your little one, but that volume will decrease as your baby gets bigger and takes up more room in your uterus. Your baby’s eyesight continues to develop, though it’s not very keen. Even after birth, your baby will keep those little peepers closed for a good part of the day. He or she will respond to changes in light but will have 20/400 vision and only make out objects a few inches from his or her face. (Normal adult vision is 20/20.)

Leave a Reply

