RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 31

PhotobucketThis week baby is about 16 inches long which is about the length of a typical Milton Bradley (now Hasbro) board game box, like Sorry, Clue or Battleship. Kiddo1 has quite the game collection, built up over many years of me asking our families for toys that don’t have batteries.

Indigestion is still quite a battle this week, but only if I struggle to control myself! As long as I eat small meals I’m okay, but that’s so much harder than it sounds! I’m so hungry! And when the food tastes so good (as most foods are) I just want to eat the whole thing! Plus seconds! Also, eating small meals means I need to eat more often which is good and bad. Good because I get to eat (that’s always good!) but bad because I have to have food with me pretty much all the time because I never know when my stomach will cry for more.

On Monday, the hunger struck while I was leaving work which was most unfortunate because I had to pick up my son and then probably run some errands or something, I don’t remember because all I could think about was the hunger! We arrived home and I quickly scarfed down some cottage cheese and carrots but I still ended up having odd indigestion-like feelings and had to lie down on the sofa for awhile. WTF? How can I feel all indigestion-y if I haven’t eaten anything?!

On Wednesday I had it down, though. I ate my lunch in thirds at 11:30, 1:30 and 3:30. That way when I left at 4:15 I could make it to pick up Kiddo1 and get all the way home. Then I had to have a snack when we got home and had to eat an early dinner. And some more snacking. If I have to start getting up in the middle of the night I’m going to freak out!

One bad thing about all this indigestion (or reverse indigestion?) that actually leads to good discoveries is all the Braxton Hicks contractions that the discomfort brings on. I had been lying down on my side and breathing through them, which does help a little. But on Monday I decided to kneel on the living room floor instead, with my head up on the sofa seat. To my surprise that worked a whole lot better! A few minutes of that position and the contractions were pretty much gone. Maybe all that stuff I learned from Active Birth is sinking in. Hmmm…

Anyway, let’s go through the weekly wrap-up, shall we?

  • Total weight gain: There’s got to be something wrong with my bathroom scale. It says that I’ve actually lost a pound this week. That can’t be true right? Normally I’d be all like, yay! but one is supposed to gain during pregnancy right? Well, I’m calling it even at 24 pounds gained rather than take a pound away. Baby2 gained half a pound this week!
  • Cravings: I suppose salads, I’ve had five or six this week. Good ones with spinach and other dark greens. I’ve tried to be really good about my carbs lately but I have had some moments of weakness. I can’t help myself!
  • Coolest symptom: This week I had the first experience of “escapism” kicks for this pregnancy. These are the kicks during which a body part protrudes slightly from my belly. I’m not sure what it was, a butt maybe, but something round was sticking out my right side and it was weird and funny. I love these kinds of kicks. I just gave her a little pat and a rub and gently pushed her back a bit. She moved around like crazy for awhile! I hope she isn’t running out of room already!
  • Lamest symptom: When I sit down, my boobs sit on my belly. I’ve got a little boob shelf going on. Also, it’s interesting that when I pass women who I don’t know, they stare at my belly. When I pass men they stare at my boobs (regardless of whether or not they know me). Yes, I am growing people, but I still have a face!
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes): 215 minutes! I’m super proud of myself because I also fought a cold this week. I think the working out (combined with the six or seven cups of lemon tea for a couple days!) helped me get over the cold quickly. Also, I did a much better job at getting an even split between cardio and yoga (110 of cardio with water aerobics, biking and the elliptical; 105 of yoga) but I still need to work on getting in exercise on the weekends and I’ve neglected to do my arm routine all week. You win some, you lose some I guess.

Baby2, what’s new with you? Here’s an update, courtesy babycenter.com:

This week, your baby measures over 16 inches long. He or she weighs about 3.3 pounds (try carrying four navel oranges) and is heading into a growth spurt. Your baby can turn his or her head from side to side, and his or her arms, legs, and body are beginning to plump out as needed fat accumulates underneath the skin. Your little one’s kicks and somersaults may be keeping you up at night. Take comfort: All this moving is a sign that your baby is active and healthy.

2 responses »

  1. That is the position I labored in with my first son… nothing felt better! 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh that’s SO good to hear! My brain can’t stop thinking of good positions to labor in. Something upright so that labor doesn’t slow, baby’s head encourages my cervix AND I’m comfortable! The idea of being in a squat for several hours sounds so tiring, so this sort of low kneeling position is the best thing I can think of so far! I’m glad it worked so well for you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

