RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 32

Photobucket This week baby is just over 16-1/2 inches long (16.7, to be exact). That is approximately the width of my bathroom sink (my bathroom sink is not the one pictured here, however). Washing my hands is going to be a whole new experience this week!

A great experience of this week has been interacting with Kiddo1. I’ve always felt like he’s been a little protective of me, but lately his protectiveness seems to be shining through all the time! It’s so interesting to see the change. He seems to know that I’m a bit more vulnerable right now so he’s watching out for me, especially when we’re hanging out alone while Mr. Handsome is working (which he hasn’t done nearly as many hours of this week and that has been awesome!).

I’ve suffered a few rounds of indigestion on the evenings lately (what’s new, right) and he’s sat with me attentively, often reading his Harry Potter book to me when I just don’t have the strength to read to him. He’ll reach over and touch my hands and ask me if I’m okay. It’s the sweetest thing in the whole world!

Lately I’ve also made some heavy sighs when I sit down because I’m running out of room for not only the contents of my stomach but also my lungs/diaphragm. He always looks over and asks again if I’m okay, usually twice. “Are you sure you’re okay?” Even if I just have a strange look on my face, he’s checking in. He’s always been fairly sensitive and always caring, but I feel like he’s really stepped it up lately!

Even at soccer practice (where only him and I and a father/son duo show up, sad – practice is optional during the spring season in our league) he will put himself between me and the ball so I don’t get hit. He’ll tell me to watch out and he won’t even let me run around with them anymore.

I have a feeling that this protectiveness will quickly shift focus to his little sister when she arrives. It’s a good thing he’ll be off on his own when she starts dating! (He could have kids of his own by then! Ahh! I shouldn’t think of that yet!)

Here are some more cool things about the week:

  • Total weight gain: Wow the scale has fluctuated a lot, but I’m going to say 25 pounds gained. Sometimes it says 23 pounds, sometimes 26. Weirdo scale.
  • Cravings: Smoothies. I want a smoothie so bad all the time! I have to remember, though, that a smoothie is like a meal to me lately. And really, there’s a whole lot of food in that cup: a whole banana, a couple strawberries, a kiwi, some veggie juice. I must pace myself!
  • Coolest symptom: I know kick-talk occupies this space like, all the time. And if that’s annoying to you I’m sorry (too bad!), but to me it’s still super cool. Every time I feel a kick I think, Holy shit! There’s a real live person in there! She’s kicking super high, super low, pushing on my cervix (ouch), I think I may have even felt a foot pushing out my side here and there! Every kick reminds me she’s that much closer to being here in my arms.
  • Lamest symptom: I feel like I am running out of space! I have to sit up really straight all the time because if I slouch at all I compress my breathing space and stomach too much which brings on the indigestion feelings even more. Plus she’s getting really close to kicking my boobs when I slouch. Too close, little lady.
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes): Oh man, I was totally lame this week. I only managed one 45-minute yoga session and one 30-minute elliptical session. I didn’t even make it to water aerobics due in part to indigestion and in part to reoccurring leg cramps. Major exercise fail this week but I’m trying not to beat myself up too much. There’s always next week!

Here’s a Baby2 development update, courtesy babycenter.com:

By now, your baby weighs 3.75 pounds (pick up a large jicama) and is about 16.7 inches long, taking up a lot of space in your uterus. You’re gaining about a pound a week and roughly half of that goes right to your baby. In fact, your little one will gain a third to half of his or her birth weight during the next seven weeks as he or she fattens up for survival outside the womb. Your baby now has toenails, fingernails, and real hair (or at least respectable peach fuzz). The skin on your baby’s body is becoming soft and smooth as he or she plumps up in preparation for birth.

Leave a Reply

