RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 34

dustbusterAt 34 baby is just about 17-1/2 inches long – our Dust Buster is approximately that same length. We’ve been using our Dust Buster a good bit this week to clean up after the projects I’ve been finishing up. I’ve procrastinated on my sewing but I’ve got new mirrors hung and all wall hangings up!

Yesterday I was going to say that I’m not sure how a whole Dust Buster would fit in my belly, folded up or not. However today I can totally see it! She’s stretching herself out big time today – there are frequent movements super, super low in my abdomen and high enough that when I’m sitting (and perhaps slouching a bit), she hits my boobs at the same time. She can kick at my hips, she stretches from side to side, she’s everywhere! And her kicks aren’t so much quick movements as longer, sustained pushes of her body. She’s literally stretching as much as she can as she begins to slowly run out of space.

Anyway… 34 weeks?! Halfway through the third trimester! How did this happen? It seems like time is just flying by at this point. Six more weeks to go – seems like no time at all! Enough time to finish my sewing, I’m sure (at least I keep telling myself that!), but still, it’s right around the corner!

I’m getting more feelings of excitement for things to come in less than two months. When Baby2 pushes her little feet out my side and I give her a little foot rub, I imagine rubbing her little feet without layers of skin, muscle and uterus in between us. I’m having more daydreams of just hanging out with Baby2: snuggling with her while reading with Kiddo1, taking everyone to the park to sprawl in the sun, playing in the kiddy pool in the backyard, all that good, wholesome stuff!

Here’s some non-imaginary stuff that happened this week:

  • Total weight gain: The scale has been messing with me. It is all over the place. I’m going to say 27 pounds because I said 26-27 last week and I don’t want to set myself up for disappointment next week (but I think I’m still at 26 pounds. Shhh – don’t tell myself). I’m very happy with my weight gain thus far, though. Six weeks to go and if I can stay in the most healthy 35 pound range I will be a happy camper!
  • Cravings: I can’t get enough of snickers blizzards from DQ. I’ve had two this week alone! I can count that as calcium though, right? I’d better be careful with this craving in order to meet my weight goals! Luckily I’ve also been craving salads for lunch for the past three weeks or so, so they totally balance each other out… I’m sure of it.
  • Coolest symptom: I’ve noticed in the past week or two that Baby2 has started having brief hiccup sessions. They don’t last long and I really don’t notice them unless I’m laying down and still. I’m glad they aren’t as annoying as I’ve heard them described (and I hope that doesn’t change!).
  • Lamest symptom: I’m having a hard time with decision-making lately. I really don’t like to be bothered with any sort of decisions. I’ve been getting really frustrated feelings when I have to decide certain things. My mind doesn’t want to be bothered with real-life stuff, it would rather daydream I suppose!
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes): I did better this week than the past two weeks, which were major fails. I still didn’t hit the goal but I did manage 75 minutes of yoga, 60 minutes of water aerobics (yes I made it this week!) and I’m marking down 20 minutes of miscellaneous cardio for playing basketball and walking to the park with the fam. That’s 155 minutes – not too shabby.

Here’s what’s new with Baby2, courtesy babycenter.com:

Your baby now weighs about 4 3/4 pounds (like your average cantaloupe) and is almost 18 inches long. Fat layers – which will help regulate your baby’s body temperature after birth – are filling your baby out, making him or her rounder. Your baby’s skin is also smoother than ever. The central nervous system is maturing, and your baby’s lungs are continuing to mature as well. If you’ve been nervous about preterm labor, you’ll be happy to know that babies born between 34 and 37 weeks who have no other health problems generally do fine. They may need a short stay in the neonatal nursery and may have a few short-term health issues, but in the long run, they usually do as well as full-term babies.

2 responses »

  1. OH MY GOD SNICKERS BLIZZARDS

    Good thing there are no DQ’s around here or I would LIVE there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

