RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 35

Swag-Chair

Baby is about 18 inches long this week! 18 inches all curled up and snug in there, that’s for sure. Because of my architecture school days, 18 inches immediately makes me think of the standard height of a residential chair (typically a dining or other seating chair, not typically what we’d call a “task chair” or a desk chair to normal people – there are a LOT of different kinds of chairs in the design world). This very modern-looking Herman Miller chair (Herman Miller is like the design god of chair retail) is so awesome it’s all-purpose, I’m sure.

Speaking of desk chairs and office furniture, this week I’ve been focused on getting work stuff all organized and ready for my departure. Luckily a lot of my projects are wrapping up around the end of the month so I don’t have too much that someone needs to take over for me. I’ve been meeting with my boss to transfer a couple relatively routine duties to other members of our team so that seems to be getting handled just fine.

Only 18 days left of work after today (with there’s two days off in there so four work weeks, technically). I had planned on working up until the point labor began, but Mr. Handsome feels more comfortable with me bowing out early because I work way across town and we only have the one car (which I drive to work). He’s afraid of us getting stranded where we are and I’ve got to agree with him on this one. Plus, the idea of having a set date to stop working appeals to me more and more every day.

Usually I love to work but lately I’m so very excited for a nice, long 10-week break. I love my job, don’t get me wrong, but my team has changed a little in the past six months or so and it just isn’t the same as what I got myself into a couple years ago.

Most of us on the team are looking for new positions within the company (it is a very large company, lots of opportunities). I’m no exception but my current situation makes looking for something new a little… challenging. I can’t really start anything until I get back from leave, but I can’t look for much while I’m on leave because I’m away.

Luckily I’ve laid the groundwork with a couple management people I work with here and there; they know I’m interested in obtaining an official position on their teams so we’ve promised to keep in touch while I’m out. I also plan to spend the latter half of my leave getting my resume all polished up and calling/emailing the contacts I have to beg for inquire about open positions. It can take some time for new positions to get filled so I don’t expect to have something all set to go the first day I’m back, but I would feel so much more motivated to return if there were some open windows!

Other work from this week:

  • Total weight gain: 28 pounds gained, five weeks to go. It’s interesting to note that Baby2 accounts for over five of those pounds all by herself! Not to mention the amniotic fluid, placenta and of course the extra boob weight. So much boob weight!
  • Cravings: It’s been a mixture of things this week, but I find as my weight gain stays consistent I’ve been giving myself more of a pass to indulge in sweets (like snickers blizzards) which I need to be careful of. These next five weeks Baby2 gains a half-pound weekly so if I want to keep on my own pound-a-week pace I have to be careful!
  • Coolest symptom: I’m feeling more and more ready for birth, physically and emotionally. Little Miss’s head is burrowing down as I can feel pressure on my cervix. The Braxton Hicks are back (haven’t seen them in a couple months it seems like!) but they aren’t painful at all this time, just a light tightening real low in my abdomen/uterus. So far (SO FAR) I don’t mind them at all.
  • Lamest symptom: I’m so, so very itchy! My belly itches all the time. A week or two ago I wore a black dress and I scratched so much during the day my nails were turning blue/black by early afternoon. Lotion helps a little but my skin is just stretching so much! She’s growing so fast!
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes): Still not quite meeting the goal lately – that’s four weeks in a row, sad face. I did 120 minutes of yoga and 60 of water aerobics (freaking loving water aerobics so much!). So close to goal! This weekend I promise myself to not think too much about my last couple projects and get on the elliptical so I can get over the edge of that goal.

Here’s what’s new with Baby2, courtesy babycenter.com:

Your baby doesn’t have much room to maneuver now. He or she is over 18 inches long and tips the scales at 5 1/4 pounds (pick up a honeydew melon)! Because he or she is so snug in your womb, your baby isn’t likely to be doing dramatic somersaults anymore, but the number of movements you feel should remain about the same. Your baby’s kidneys are fully developed now, and his or her liver can process some waste products. Basic physical development is now mostly complete – your baby’s main job over the next few weeks is to put on weight.

Leave a Reply

