RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 36

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone AppThey say baby is about 18-1/2 inches long this week – the width of the lid on my washing machine!

This week we’ve really been cleaning up on the to-do list and I’m starting to feel ready. I’ve crossed a whole bunch of items off my to-do list (which I’ll post tomorrow). The nursery is all finished, although my mind is still obsessing over ways to improve my giant mobile (I’m sure some things will happen to it with it in the next couple weeks. I can’t let this stuff go!).

We have acquired all the essential baby gear: the car seat and a Moby wrap carrier from my transportation gear post, a breast pump and pillow from my feeding gear post and a crib, dresser, play mat and some blankets from my home gear post.

We’ve taken our waterbirth class, taken a tour of the hospital birth center (enlightening! The recovery rooms are so much bigger than they were nine years ago!), I’ve read seven books about birth and I’ve written down a bunch of birth plan thoughts that Mr. Handsome and I will go over this weekend. We’ve talked about it on and off but it’s time to really get down to business about it!

Despite all this work that has been done and as ready things seem, every time I look at the calendar and realize how close we are I am both excited and freaked out at the same time. I’m pretty sure Mr. Handsome feels the same way. When I remind him how many weeks are left he just kind of repeats the number I quoted and gets quiet. It’s just like, whoa! We’re super close to being a family of four instead of three! Three is all we’ve known for nine whole years!

Still super excited more than freaked out, though. I’ve started to think about upcoming events with this new little one in mind. We’ll have a little bundle in tow everywhere we go! So awesome to think about!

Other awesomeness of the week:

  • Total weight gain: 30 pounds. An unfortunate combination of not meeting my exercise goals (for several weeks in a row), relaxing my diet (damn you Snickers Blizzards!) and Baby2’s own half-pound-per-week gain is wreaking havoc on my pound-a-week goal! The pregnant part of my brain is totally okay with this but the non-pregnant part is a little in shock when the number comes up on the scale.
  • Cravings: A whole bunch of sweet stuff that I’m trying not to pay attention to. I’ve been sticking to my daily salad but ice cream is just so fantasically amazing. It’s not fair that there are so many forms of chocolate in the world.
  • Coolest symptom: She’s moving around super low and I can feel her push against my cervix, especially when I’m walking around. I remember these senstations becoming more and more frequent leading up to the day Kiddo1 was born. Although this “pinching” of my cervix is slightly uncomfortable, it makes me feel like things are starting to happen. I can’t get too ahead of myself though! She hasn’t dropped or anything, though. Her kicks still push up my boobs when I’m sitting!
  • Lamest symptom: A byproduct of the super low movement is that I have to pee all the time. ALL the time. At work, I swear I’m in the bathroom 20 times a day at least. At night I’m up three or four times at least. I am trying to stay extra hydrated lately so I’m sure that doesn’t help but STILL. It’s a lot of bathroom time.
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes 180 minutes): I’m dropping the goal down a bit since I suppose I should be taking it easy — no, that’s just a excuse to drop my goal because I haven’t made it the last four or five weeks so might as well right?! This week I did pretty well but mostly because we were out and about around town most of Sunday. I’m going to count 60 minutes of walking for that (even though we did way more, but it was intermittent). Plus 60 minutes of water aerobics and 75 of yoga means I made the goal this week with 195 minutes!

Here’s what’s new with Baby2, courtesy babycenter.com:

Your baby is still packing on the pounds – at the rate of about an ounce a day. He or she now weighs almost 6 pounds (like a crenshaw melon) and is more than 18 1/2 inches long. Your baby is shedding most of the downy hair that covered his or her body, as well as the vernix caseosa – a waxy substance that protects the skin during its nine-month bath in amniotic fluid. Your baby swallows these substances, along with other secretions, and they form a tar-like black substance called meconium which your baby passes in his or her first bowel movements. At the end of this week, your baby will be considered full term. (Full term is 37 to 42 weeks; babies born before 37 weeks are preterm and those born after 42 are post term.) Most likely he or she is in a head-down position. But if not, your practitioner may suggest scheduling an external cephalic version. (This is a fancy way of saying that your caregiver will try to coax your baby into a head-down position by manipulating him or her from the outside of your belly.)

2 responses »

  1. I want all the ice cream. ALL THE ICE CREAM.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

