RSS Feed

Book Review: The Everything Breastfeeding Book

Photobucket Pictures, Images and PhotosSince it has been nine years since my last breastfeeding experience AND I like to be fully prepared for these kinds of things, I’ve started reading books on breastfeeding. The Everything Breastfeeding Book by Suzanne and Ray Fredregill seemed like a good primer to get me reintroduced to this world.

I was correct that this book would be a good reintroduction as it is basically a survey course of all things breastfeeding. The book’s chapters cover topics from supplies needed to common concerns and, of course, diet and exercise. It seems like every facet is addressed, although without too much of the specific details. For some things that I’m really interested in reading more about, such as overcoming challenges related to returning to work, this book barely scratches the surface.

I don’t think this book was a waste of a read at all – like I had hoped, it was a good primer to get me thinking about breastfeeding again – but it did have some pitfalls. For example:

  • There are several different breastfeeding positions covered, each complete with a pretty good illustration except what I would think are the most difficult positions (but extremely useful if needed), the over-the-shoulder and Australian/prone (laying on your back) holds.
  • One thing that I thought was just weird… when choosing which parent will get out of bed to get the baby for a nighttime feeding, the authors actually suggest a game called “I’m sleeping it’s your turn” in which you just lie there and wait for the other person to move. I’m not going to lie, sometimes this is my strategy with our dog (okay it’s always my strategy because I know I can make it way longer than Mr. Handsome) but I don’t think it’s a great idea for a crying, hungry baby. Doesn’t it seem like this would only make the baby more upset and therefore take more time for the baby to latch on and get calmed down? (Of course, I say this now but when it’s the middle of the night and I’m dead tired after a couple weeks of nighttime feedings, we’ll see what happens.) I just don’t think it’s a great suggestion to help ease any tensions about nighttime feedings between two exhausted parents.

These things wouldn’t necessarily keep me from reading this book, in hindsight.

It’s a positive that everything is covered because now I know what kind of information I’m really seeking and can search those books out. I need to know more about fostering positive sleep behavior and successful breastfeeding after returning to work. I didn’t realize those were the things I’d be looking for until I started reading the book and wondering why more detail about them was missing.

Overall a good read but if you’re looking for information on a specific topic or if you only want to read one book on breastfeeding, this book won’t work for you.

Next review: The Maternity Leave Breastfeeding Plan by William Wilkoff

Leave a Reply

