RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 37

37 weeks! That’s term time! I’m feeling pretty darn good about that. As of today, I can have my waterbirth, I won’t have any restrictions if I go into labor now and the “preterm” risk factor for baby has been eliminated. Super sweet.

Speaking of baby, she’s supposedly about 19 inches long this week. Apparently a lot of things are 19 inches long but they’re all like TVs and car tires: boring. In keeping with the spirit of the (now concluded) NBA finals, I discovered this foam finger we obtained at a Phoenix Suns game is exactly 19 inches long! (We moved to the PacNW from Phoenix four years ago. We’re so lucky to live here now!)

Speaking of luck, this week I’m reflecting on how incredibly lucky I am. A year ago at this time I was frustrated with myself for not being pregnant yet. Now, I’m wrapping up my second super awesome pregnancy and I couldn’t be happier.

I’m lucky because pregnancy is fairly easy for me. I don’t intend to brag with this at all, I merley want to list all this lucky stuff for myself so when I look back I can thoroughly remember that I did have it good and I should not complain! Why complain about something we tried so hard to achieve? I mean, here I am, 37 weeks, and I’m still riding my bike around the neighborhood (not too far from home, just in case!), touching my toes during yoga, doing the downward dog, literally running across the street, getting myself out of bed on my own and driving myself to work every day. My wedding rings still fit and I can still wear some non-maternity clothes. I haven’t been sick, I haven’t felt gross, in fact I’ve felt pretty darn amazing this whole time. I sleep using only one pillow, for my head, and I sleep very well (almost too well becMy weight gain has been great, my tests have come back normal, my midwife is happy with my progress and I’ve only gone to see her once a month (next visit is in two weeks, but that should be the last one!). Overall, nothing to complain about.

Some more lucky stuff:

  • Total weight gain: 31 pounds. Three weeks to go. I totally got this.
  • Cravings: Still sweet things. Every day for lunch I eat a spinach salad (I crave those a little bit now!) but I’ve started to add a couple chocolate chip cookies to my lunch, too. Since I haven’t been eating my daily dose of Dove dark chocolates, I have to get my chocolate fix somehow. I only had one snickers blizzard this week! Major accomplishment in my self-control there.
  • Coolest symptom: This week I suddenly realized I’m having contractions (probably Braxton-Hicks, but whatever). On Tuesday I was driving in to work and noticed what I still think is baby’s head rotating a bit – it’s very low. Then my whole belly got super duper hard. I noticed it happening all day Tuesday and each day since. They don’t hurt at all, I barely notice them. I told the midwife at Tuesday’s appointment – I actually had one while we were talking. She touched my belly and said, “Yep, that’s a contraction.” Of course I didn’t have the sense to ask if she thought they were Braxton-Hicks or not, but sometimes they are accompanied by the “cervix pinches” I mentioned last week. Only thing to do is wait and see I suppose!
  • Lamest symptom: I fight the waddle so hard right now. Other than that, I’m not noticing anything in particular that is too lame this week.
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes 180 minutes): 60 minutes of water aerobics, 120 of yoga. Just barely made it! I’m going to start doing water aerobics twice a week next week. I’d like to think that will increase my exercise time but we’ll see…

Here’s what’s new with Baby2, courtesy babycenter.com:

Your baby is now considered full term, even though your due date is three weeks away. If you go into labor now, your baby’s lungs will likely be mature enough to fully adjust to life outside the womb. (Some babies need a bit more time, though. So if you’re planning to have a repeat c-section, for example, your practitioner will schedule it for no earlier than 39 weeks unless there’s a medical reason to intervene earlier.) Your baby weighs 6 1/3 pounds and measures a bit over 19 inches, head to heel (like a stalk of Swiss chard). Many babies have a full head of hair at birth, with locks from 1/2 inch to 1 1/2 inches long. But don’t be surprised if your baby’s hair isn’t the same color as yours. Dark-haired couples are sometimes thrown for a loop when their children come out as blonds or redheads, and fair-haired couples have been surprised by an Elvis look-alike. And then, of course, some babies sport only peach fuzz.

One response »

  1. Congrats on 37 weeks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

