RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 38

Holy shit, week 38. That means, in approximately two weeks time, our little family of three will be four. We’ll have a little baby to hold and feed and love (and clean up after!). We’ll have evened out the girl-boy ratio in our house! Well, as long as you don’t count our boy dog (who am I kidding, the boys are totally counting him so they can continue to have the majority).

At 38 weeks, baby is said to be about 19-1/2 inches long (although Kiddo1 was 19-1/2 inches at birth so we’ll see what Baby2 ends up being!). 19-1/2 inches is the approximate height of my 5-gallon glass carboy, in which I brew beer. Mmmm, beer. I haven’t brewed in about a year but I really need to get on it now. I’d love to have a delicious home brew as one of the first back-to-alcohol drinks I allow myself!

But before the drinks can flow, the baby needs to arrive. Why am I starting to get nervous about when that will be? I’m not very nervous about the event itself, but OMG WHEN WILL IT HAPPEN? I’m looking at my calendar and realizing I not only have work things tightly scheduled for the next week but my personal calendar is full of events as well. What if she’s more than a week early? I hate missing things.

After the due date I have a wedding I’d really like to attend. Then my parents show up on the 18th. What if she’s late? I would really like a few days to myself (and my immediately family, of course!) to relax and bond and, most importantly, recover. The best time for her to arrive would be the evening of Tuesday, July 10th (are you listening baby?!).

I know it’s pointless to worry about this and it’s something that I just can’t schedule (honestly, I know I wouldn’t want to). I have to relax, go with the flow, and know that whatever happens, I’ll drop anything, anything at all, and focus on this birth when the time comes. Stressing is pointless (and I’ll keep telling myself that!).

Here are some things I’m not stressing about, though:

  • Total weight gain: 32 pounds. Still on track! I’m very proud of my body for keeping the third tri gain to a pound a week (on average). I haven’t done much to help out, what with my ice cream habit and dropping my exercise goal, so thanks, body. I heart you.
  • Cravings: Perhaps I’ve had my fill of ice cream? I’m not ravenous for it this week (although I still indulged a couple times). I’m loving my daily breakfast sandwich and daily spinach salad for lunch, plus I’m crazy thirsty lately.
  • Coolest symptom: The “contractions” continue, although not at all consistent (definitely some Braxton-Hicks action going on). “Cervix pinches” also continue. I’m dying to know if I’ve made any progress but, with the Group B Strep positive test I fear the risk of potential infection so I won’t ask to be checked at Tuesday’s midwife appointment. All in all I feel pretty damn fantastic still!
  • Lamest symptom: Still fighting the waddle (and, come evening, giving in most of the time) and still peeing a whole lot.
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes 180 minutes): 120 minutes of water aerobics (yeah, I went twice!), 75 minutes of yoga for a total of 195 minutes. Woot! I’ve found the yoga feels more “productive” lately, like with each lunge and squat baby settles down into position a little more.

Here’s what’s new with Baby2, courtesy babycenter.com:

Your baby has really plumped up. He or she weighs about 6.8 pounds and is over 19 1/2 inches long (like a leek). Your baby has a firm grasp, which you’ll soon be able to test when you hold his or her hand for the first time! His or her organs have matured and are ready for life outside the womb. Wondering what color your baby’s eyes will be? You may not be able to tell right away. If your baby is born with brown eyes, they’ll likely stay brown. If he or she is born with steel gray or dark blue eyes, they may stay gray or blue or turn green, hazel, or brown by the time your baby is 9 months old. That’s because a child’s irises (the colored part of the eye) may gain more pigment in the months after birth, but they usually won’t get “lighter” or more blue. (Green, hazel, and brown eyes have more pigment than gray or blue eyes.)

4 responses »

  1. You are so close! I hope it all works out for the timing you want. The last couple of weeks are like sitting on pins & needles!!

    Reply
    • Yeah, she’ll probably arrive on one of the nights my husband has to work (at his new job, naturally; what better way to get to know your coworkers than having to call in!). But I can hope for the best!

      Reply
  2. I didn’t know you brew too! I love drinking beer I made myself. Who am I kidding, I love all beer.

    Reply
    • Mmmm beer… I should have started brewing a batch weeks ago so I could enjoy it as my “first beer back” but I suppose I can settle for a Pacific NW variety instead (Bridgeport is calling my name!).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

