RSS Feed

Labor Foods

Happy Independence Day! Since Bany2’s own independence (from being physically attached to me) is imminent, and someone in my moms group recently mentioned labor cookies, I figured I’d make some yummy cookies and post about them. The midwife is okay with “getting things moving,” if you will, since really anything we try will only “ripen the cervix” rather than induce actual labor. I think she’s soclose but not quite ready yet!

Anyway, cookies!

There’s this site, JustMommies.com, that has all sorts of recipes for labor-inducing foods. They list obvious ones, like hot wings, but also labor pizza and a pineapple smoothie! I’m itching to try all these, but first and foremost are the cookies. The link above will take you to the original recipe, but below you’ll find my version after making a couple half-batches with my own special tweaks.

I first made these on Sunday and they were tasty! I doubled the amount of cayenne pepper from the original recipe, so they were extra spicy too (but really not too spicy, I could eat them without needing water). I made a batch with the regular amount of cayenne for a work potluck yesterday and they went over well.

On Sunday I felt like the BHCs (Braxton Hicks contractions) got a little stronger about two hours after I ate a couple cookies. No big changes. On Monday afternoon I felt contractions that seemed a little more real (pressure near the bottom of my uterus, rising to the top, constricting, very tight-feeling belly, etc). They were about 12-13 minutes apart for five hours or so, then fizzled in the evening.

On Tuesday I stopped paying attention, mostly because I’m straining to feel every sensation that I possibly can and it’s starting to stress me out. I need to relax and just let things happen. Of course, I’ll try to pitch in with a little help from labor foods and, you know, other fun things that Mr. Handsome can help with. But I doubt any kind of stress is going to move anything along very quickly.

On to the cookie recipe!

Labor Inducing Gingersnap Cookie Recipe

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour*
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper*
8 tablespoons (or 1 stick) butter*
3/4 cup granulated sugar (will also need extra sugar to roll cookie dough in)*
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/3 cup molasses
2 egg whites

* = things I changed from the original recipe

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, salt and cayenne pepper in small mixing bowl. Set dry ingredients aside.

Then blend butter in large mixing bowl. Stir in brown sugar and granulated sugar slowly. Add the molasses, then the egg whites. Finally, add the dry ingredients to your mix.

Roll dough into ¾ inch balls. Roll cookie balls in sugar to lightly coat each cookie. Place balls on cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake in oven for 8-10 minutes or until cookies are golden brown.

Yum! I’m also going to try the Pineapple Smoothie today. Bring it, labor!

One response »

  1. Let us know if it works! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

