RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 39

39 weeks! We’ve made it this far!

This week, it looks like summer may have officially hit the Pacific NW, after lots of teasing – going back and forth between 80/sunny and 60/rainy. Very weird spring/early summer weather this year, but now that the sun is here (to stay?) I can’t complain. I’m very excited to walk about with Baby2 in the sun, strapped to my chest and shaded, of course.

With the heat coming it’s time to break out the 20″ box fan to keep cool in our non-air-conditioned house (we don’t really need the A/C anyway, we have a basement. Sure, sometimes we sleep in the basement, but we save a whole bunch on our utility bill!).

Wait? 20″? Well, that’s the approximate length of Baby2 this week!

And speaking of summer, after today summer vacation (aka maternity leave) officially begins. I put one of these on my office email today:

See you office homies in 10 weeks, yo!

Like a lot of things lately, I am both excited for and nervous about maternity leave. Excited because, duh, I don’t have to work. Nervous because, well, I like to work! I like the routine, I like the sense of accomplishment, I like getting out of the house and being independent. What if I miss important changes at the office (our company is changing all the time; things are very fast-paced, especially in my wing of the building), what if I miss opportunities? Urg, the uncertainty!

Luckily, I will have the sweetest distraction that ever could be: my super awesome, amazing family, complete with brand-new Baby2. Not such a bad trade-off, I suppose. Besides, work will be there for me when I return (September 17th, I’d better not start the countdown already!). And by then, I’m sure I’ll be ready for it.

But… while I feel ready for leave and ready for this baby to make her appearance, I’m not so sure if I’m ready for not being pregnant anymore! These last few weeks have been especially excellent, despite having to roll myself off the couch at this point. I know this is the last time in my life I’ll be this way, and it’s kind of depressing me all of a sudden.

I will really miss this time so I want to make the most of it – but what can I do? Other than trying to not rush myself or be impatient, I don’t know how best to take advantage of it. I’m taking pictures to look back on, of course. I’m journaling, blogging, all that good stuff. I guess just living in the moment is the best thing for me, being grateful for all that I have right now.

Anyway, before the weekly standards, a few updates about our latest midwife appointment. First, she says Baby2’s head is super duper low in my pelvis – so low she could barely feel it! Baby2 is faced toward my back and her back is centered in my uterus (ie she’s not favoring one side or the other, although I think I feel her move to my right side sometimes). She’s in the perfect position for birth! My fundal height was only about 37 cm, but I was having a contraction while she measured (she actually pointed out the contraction!) so I could be more like 38 cm. Either way, our midwife was not at all concerned – she estimates baby will be about 7 pounds or so (Kiddo1 is concerned that she’ll be bigger than he was at birth!). We talked a little about Group B Strep (half of us in the centering group tested positive!) and she didn’t say anything that I haven’t already heard (call if your water breaks, call earlier than you think you should, you need antibiotics 4 hours before birth, another dose after 4 hours would be best, etc, etc). Another great appointment, hopefully the last one! The next one is scheduled for four days after my due date.

On to the regular updates:

  • Total weight gain: 33 pounds. I thought I’d break down the typical weight gain for myself, just so I can see that the number really isn’t so bad (in fact, it’s great according to my midwife!). This is according to the American Pregnancy Association:
    • Baby: 7-8 pounds
    • Placenta: 1-2 pounds
    • Amniotic fluid: 2 pounds
    • Uterus: 2 pounds
    • Maternal breast tissue: 2 pounds (at least! ha!)
    • Maternal blood: 4 pounds
    • Fluids in maternal tissue: 4 pounds
    • Maternal fat and nutrient stores: 7 pounds
  • Cravings: Spicy foods, like my extra spicy ginger cookies. Perhaps this craving will help entice our little one to make her way into the outside world?
  • Coolest symptom: More defined limbs are sticking out the sides of my belly. I’m pretty sure I grabbed a foot the other day. I like to tickle her little feet, then she pulls it back in. It’s a fun little interaction that I know won’t last too long. But soon I’ll tickle her actual feet, so that’ll be cool!
  • Lamest symptom: I’ve got this strange muscle-tightening thing going on sporadically in my right groin muscle. It’s weird. It only lasts for a moment but stops me in my tracks. Not really painful but I can’t walk through it either. Also, my wedding rings are getting a little tight. I still wear them, but I hope it doesn’t get any worse!
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes 180 minutes): I missed water aerobics entirely this week. It’s only offered three times a week this summer – I missed Saturday because I was lazy, Monday because I had too much other stuff to do and then I realized too late that Wednesday is a holiday so they weren’t offering a session. Lame! I did do 75 minutes of yoga though, so all was not lost, plus about 60 minutes of biking over the 4th. Oh! And about an hour of walking around town with the fam over the weekend. So I guess that puts me at goal after all!

Here’s what’s new with Baby2, courtesy babycenter.com:

Your baby’s waiting to greet the world! He or she may measure about 20 inches and weigh a bit over 7 pounds, a mini watermelon. (Boys tend to be slightly heavier than girls.) Your baby continues to build a layer of fat to help control body temperature after birth, and the outer layers of skin are sloughing off as new skin forms underneath.

Leave a Reply

