RSS Feed

Friday Update: Week 40

At 40 weeks, baby is said to be about 20 inches long, the average length of a newborn. It is difficult to find 20″ objects that aren’t tires, computer monitors or TVs. So this week I settled on something way more glamorous: a piece of 20-inch carry-on luggage, which apparently is pretty standard but these little bags can go up to 22 inches. Watch out for that.

What a different kind of week it has been! I have been out on “maternity” leave since Monday. I use the quotes because it hardly feels like there’s much maternity-ing going on, as there is still no baby to care for.

I started the week by finishing a project, then lapsing into complete and total impatience and frustration, only to end with the resolve to come to terms with the wait and just be patient. Yes, I’m only 40 weeks but given Kiddo1’s early appearance at 38 weeks (ish) and the fact that everyone has been telling me about how quick the second one comes, making it to 40 weeks has been quite surprising.

I’ve been feeling much better the past couple days. Yesterday was another good day. We went out to get our car tire fixed – it has had a nail in it for the past, I don’t know, couple months, and we finally decided it’d be safe to just fix it already. It was no trip to a museum or anything, but we did get out and had a nice walk to lunch while the work was being done. Later we ran some errands, got some dinner and generally had a nice day as a happy family.

Also, Kiddo1 gave me a great project to start working on. He’s a big fan of the Titanic and a couple weeks ago he suckered us into chipping in money for him to buy some Titanic coins and memorabilia. It all arrived yesterday after a little over a week of torturous waiting (we were waiting buddies, but his package arrived before mine!). We put all the items out on the floor and decided we should frame it all. We’ve been talking about redoing the wall art in his room anyway.

So now I have a fun framing project to get started on! After we fixed the tire yesterday we went to the art supply store to get the mats. We picked up a frame just before dinner, too. Tonight I’ll lay some stuff out as ideas for him to decide on tomorrow. This is a great distraction for me, I don’t think he even realizes it.

I also need to work on finding something to wear to my friend’s wedding tomorrow which I’m super excited to be attending (yay!!) but attending pregnant (boo). Being pregnant for it isn’t a problem in-and-of-itself, I just so thought I’d be bringing a baby along to this event! I had an outfit planned for it and everything! Now it’s back to the drawing board with only a day to figure it out! Eeek!

Some standard stuff:

  • Total weight gain: 35 pounds, I think. I haven’t been as diligent with weighing in this week. But, given the next bullet point, I’d say two pounds gained this week is fair.
  • Cravings: Anything. Everything? It all sounds good and I want to eat it. I don’t feel physically restricted about the amount of food I can consume anymore. Perhaps that means she really has dropped? I have no idea…
  • Coolest symptom: Just a general physical well-being, I suppose. Other than struggling for the first time with sleep, I physically feel fantastic. My mind is starting to feel fantastic again after a rough couple days, and it is getting better the more I have other things to focus on (besides the fact that we’re at D day and still no baby!).
  • Lamest symptom: Teenage boy farts are back big time. Mr. Handsome and Kiddo1 don’t know what the hell is going on. And if we’re out I can’t blame it on the dog! (Just kidding Max! I always fess up.) At the science museum the other day, Mr. Handsome says, “Someone in here in dropping more bombs than the Air Force!” while looking at me accusingly.
  • Exercise this week (the goal is 210 minutes 180 minutes): I got in a session of water aerobics and two 45-minute yoga sessions. Score! With the hours and hours of walking added to that I’d say the goal has been met. Oh and all the vacuuming and cleaning counts for cardio too, right?

Baby2, where are you? Here’s what she’s up to, courtesy babycenter.com:

It’s hard to say for sure how big your baby will be, but the average newborn weighs about 7 1/2 pounds (a small pumpkin) and is about 20 inches long. His or her skull bones are not yet fused, which allows them to overlap a bit if it’s a snug fit through the birth canal during labor. This so-called “molding” is the reason your baby’s noggin may look a little conehead-ish after birth. Rest assured – it’s normal and temporary.

Leave a Reply

