RSS Feed

Tie Tuesday

PhotobucketMonday

Well, don’t I look triumphant? This was the first official day of maternity leave and a day or two before the anxiety had set in of wondering when this baby would come. Happy day!

It’s been hot this week and we don’t have air conditioning so jeans are pretty much off the clothing menu. Plus, I’m kind of afraid to put them on anyway! What if they don’t fit anymore? I don’t want to face the idea of it! But these shorts from the Gap worked fairly well, although by the end of the day, sitting in them was getting a tad uncomfortable. Still, it felt good to get at least one more wear out of these shorts, since I did only buy them like two months ago. Perhaps they’ll come in handy for the first couple postpartum weeks, too?

I went for this purple tank from Old Navy for some color – and to keep me cool as well! The Forever 21 necklace gave me a good “bling” feeling, too, although by the heat of 4:00 or so it had to go.

 

PhotobucketTuesday

Knocking on my belly, starting to wonder when she’s going to come out! She doesn’t respond to knocking though – or any of the other tactics I’ve tried to coax her out!

In keeping with trying to stay cool, I steered away from pants again on Tuesday. This outfit is all Old Navy, except for the shoes. These Kenneth Cole Reaction sandals are apparently my go-to shoes of the week: they are comfortable to walk in and they let my toes be as free as can be! Plus I might as well take advantage of being able to sandal-it-up to my heart’s content now that I’m away from the office (not that being in the office really stopped me from wearing these, but I couldn’t get away with it every day I suppose).

This Old Navy skirt hadn’t been a favorite at first, but the last couple weeks I’ve been loving it. It’s loose and flowy, which makes me feel a little pretty, plus it’s a nice soft cotton. And it keeps me cool! Plus the waistband is super stretchy so it is not at all constraining, even as I continue to grow! Score!

PhotobucketWednesday

Feeling pretty down on Wednesday, but I got up and dressed myself anyway! I’m slouching a little in this picture, but I think my belly still looks pretty low. It’s hard to tell – some days she seems at her normal height and some days, like Wednesday, I can feel her little bottom has sunk down a couple inches at least. I suppose she just hasn’t made up her mind yet!

On Wednesday we went to the science museum and this man told me I was having a boy. It was kind of awkward. But I guess that means my belly is looking pretty compact lately? He went on about his grandchildren and what not… Strangers are funny.

Anyway. this shirt is more Old Navy. It has a little sparkle mixed in with the print (although it’s hard to tell in this photo). People always seem to like the sparkle!

The straight skirt is knit from Forever/Love 21’s defunct maternity line. I like that it can sit above or below my belly. Nice versatility!

PhotobucketThursday

By Thursday, I needed to feel pretty. It’s funny, I don’t feel as big as I think I look sometimes. I catch myself in the mirror and I’m shocked at how big the bump is! But when I’m just sitting or walking around I don’t feel big at all. Especially when I’m laying down, I sometimes forget the bump is there. Weird.

I love this Old Navy dress. It’s so soft, I love the cut on the sides that pull the dress back to my body from the “waist” down (“waist” being defined as below the bump, in this case). This simple trick makes me feel like I don’t look huge, which is always a bonus! Some of my dresses that just hang straight down from the bump have gotten the, well, bump from my wardrobe lately. They just make me look so much bigger than I feel! And that’s not going to help anything right now!

To dress this up I added these two long necklaces, one from Target and one from Forever. These two necklaces always seem to go together, and lately they’ve been a handy set for any outfit I want to dress up a bit.

PhotobucketFriday

I needed to feel really pretty on Friday, as it was my due date and nothing was happening! I put on make-up and everything! It’s nice that my mind feels a little bit better when I do something as simple as dress nicely for the day. It only takes a few more minutes in the morning but the effect lasts all day!

I did discover that all my shoes are now too tight so I didn’t wear these pink flats for long. I changed into some bronze sandals but I was too lazy to take another picture. The dress only made it a little over half the day, too, until I changed into my Old Navy skirt and a tank because it was hot! Plus, this dress is one of those that just hangs from my bump, so I wasn’t too excited about it. It’s nice for the midwife’s office (which was the main event Friday morning) – easy access to the bump with this wrap style!

So that concludes week one of maternity leave. I’m writing this on Sunday and, of course, there’s no baby yet. I plan on keeping Tie Tuesday alive until Baby2 arrives, so who knows? Maybe we’ll have a Tie Tuesday post next week. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for not having one though!

One response »

  1. You look great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

