RSS Feed

4 8 15 16 23 42

PhotobucketOften it feels like I hold a ticking alarm that, if not addressed every 108 minutes by plugging a code into a computer, will result in a build-up of a magnetic force so strong my whole world will implode. Except in my case the alarm is my breasts, the magnetic force field is breast milk and the code is either Baby2 or my pump (which has now been affectionately named Matilda). Oh and I have more like 180 minutes rather than 108. But the situations are fundamentally the same: address the alarm or face imminent doom!

Sometimes this is what breastfeeding feels like: a never-ending cycle, a job that will never be complete, a computer that will never stop asking for a code. Whether I’m in the midst of my commute, in back-to-back meetings or trying to sleep, breastfeeding never takes a day off.

Don’t get me wrong – there are things about breastfeeding that I absolutely love. I love that it’s best for my baby, easy for me to do, ready when Baby2 needs it and, the best part, FREE. And I’m not going to let a little thing like a three-hour countdown stop me. But after a day in which I woke up engorged (ugh!), missed a pumping session due to back-to-back meetings and then straight-up forgot about it (distracted by a pot luck!) so I ended up engorged again, I need to complain a little.

Rant over, troubles forgotten, back to breastfeeding goodness!

One response »

  1. hilarious reference to LOST! I miss that show! Ugh… sorry about the engorgement. Not something I am looking forward to, being tied to the… “computer”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

