RSS Feed

A Perfect 10

That’s my son, 10 years old. Wow.

It’s just crazy to think about how long that is. What were you doing 10 years ago? Had you met your spouse/partner/crush or pets/children/etc? Were you still in school? Living a life totally different from what you live now? Well, I was starting the coolest part of my life so far: the mommy part. 10 years have not blown by, by any means, but they certainly have not sucked either.

We celebrated the tenth anniversary of Kiddo1’s birth in three ways: we had an overnight with a couple friends at this water park/resort hotel place, a small family outing on his actual birthday (a Wednesday) and, finally, a party with kids from his class at the neighborhood park (rain or shine!).

Photobucket Pictures, Images and PhotosHe took two friends that he’s known since kindergarten (they go to the neighboring elementary school now) on this overnight to the indoor water park hotel. They had a great time, pretty much just swimming the entire time we were there, except for a couple hours in the arcade. This place had a wave pool, water slides and a little kiddie area, so Baby2 went swimming for the first time! Mr. Handsome and I took turns playing with Baby2 or riding the tubes with Kiddo1.

It was a good time there, just over 24 hours, and I think everyone had fun. We were all pretty tired at the end! And, to hijack this post with some more cloth diaper stories, we again traveled with cloth and it was super easy. We do CD laundry about every 48 hours now, so we just brought the wet bag and it was all good. And, breastfeeding makes *everything* easier, for so many reasons.

On Kiddo1’s actual birthday we brought treats for his class at the end of the day (note: if you let the kids pass out the treats, only give them the exact number they need. Because if you don’t then two kids end up with only one treat and everyone else gets two and that’s just, omg, the worst. And don’t get me started on the gluten-free kid. Sorry buddy.).

Photobucket Pictures, Images and PhotosAfter school we took Kiddo1 to this bouldering gym to climb the walls. I thought he would enjoy being a monkey, plus he always needs to get some energy out, right? It was pretty fun, although toward the end we clearly needed to leave about 10 minutes before we did (he got tired, tired turned to frustrated, and the downward spiral kicks in from there) but before that things were great. We were quite sore for the next few days (well, I guess just Mr. Handsome and me, but whatever) but I think we’d all be willing to do it again. Especially if it was always followed by one of these Oreo ice cream log cake things. Mmmm.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and PhotosFinally, over the weekend he had a “park playdate” and invited his whole class. Luckily this cost me exactly $4.08 and that’s only because I bought the frosting along with the cake mix for the cupcakes I made (it’s like one step away from just buying the finished product from a bakery! Which I am too cheap to do!). Also lucky was that it didn’t rain so the kids could go full-on crazy. His class has like 18 boys and 5 girls or something, so there’s a lot of crazy energy with this group (the one or two girls that did come spent more time talking to the adults then playing with the boys!). So they ran, got hopped up on sugary mini cupcakes and had a good time. I call it a success.

Kiddo1 said he had a good birthday, which is all that matters to me. And back to my earlier point: the past 10 years have not been a blink. They represent a third of my life, the best third but wow, still that’s a long time. I can’t believe how much our son, myself, our family has evolved in the past 10 years. I can’t even imagine where we’ll be in another 10. Where Kiddo1 will be in another 10. I hope he is pursuing his passions, whatever and however that might be. I hope he is still the same thoughtful, intelligent, wonderful boy that he has become.

One response »

  1. Congrats on a decade of parenting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

