RSS Feed

Disclaimers

Yesterday’s post laid down a whole lotta my opinions on some fairly heavy stuff: diet changes, health issues, parenting. I thought today would be a good day to step back and issue a few disclaimers. This will probably be a good reference page for me to link to when my posts get all opinionated about things (which I suppose is the very nature of a blog, right?). Anyway, here are some things to know:

  1. Everybody is different. If you’ve read my pregnancy posts on this blog you’ll know that I love to say that what works for me or my family may not work for you. The choices we make as individuals and as a family are the choices we feel are right for US. You made need something else. Hell, I know I need different things than my husband or my kids sometimes. There is no such thing as a “one size fits all” solution to anything. Except for maybe drinking water… staying hydrated is good for everyone, right? If you think something that we’re doing isn’t right for you, don’t do it. I’m not here to say, this is what I think everyone should be doing and if you’re doing something else you’re wrong. On the contrary! I’m here to say, this is what I’m doing right now in an attempt to make my life and the lives of my family members better. If I feel like something is good for everyone, I’ll point it out, but if you pay attention I think you’ll see that’s pretty rare. I try to keep my mind open!
  2. What we know now is not what we knew then. With just about every new thing I learn I think, oh my damn, what have I been doing to my family all this time? All the time we didn’t know about GMOs, all the time we ate “convenience” foods, all the time we didn’t have family meals together or all the money we’ve wasted or all the needless products we bought. Sometimes I really want to beat myself up and punish myself for all these wrongs. But you know what? They weren’t wrongs. They weren’t wrong because they were the best things we knew how to do at the time. We didn’t know there was a better until we opened our minds to it. We can’t regret the things that we had no power over. Sure, you could say, well how come you didn’t become “aware” sooner or of course you should have known those frozen chicken nuggets were bad. Hindsight is 20/20, is it not? Mistakes are not recognized as such until they happen. Who says, oh I’m going to go make a giant mistake right now? No one, and especially not one who is genuinely just trying to get a child to eat something. We cannot change the past. All we can do is try to be better.
  3. Sharing information or even encouraging improvement is not judgement of others. I follow some breastfeeding and natural parenting pages on Facebook and it seems like every time an article comes out about the benefits of breastfeeding or the dangers of caesarian or tongue tie or whatever, there are always people who are commenting and basically saying, “Why are you trying to make me feel bad about what I did?” And they’re missing the point. The point isn’t to say, look how bad you screwed up, you should have done it this way! The point is, NOW we know better, so let’s educate people so we can do better next time. It sucks to find out after the fact, hell yes! Is it better to learn that there is a better way or is it better not to learn and therefore potentially make the same mistakes again? I think the former is better. I think it is better to learn. Learning is what I want to do now, and through this blog I will document it. And come up with words other than “better.”

Finally, I leave you with this image that one of my Facebook friends posted. It doesn’t have too much to do with the above, but I really liked it.

 photo 10758_520345478074128_1215931749_n_zps0567e9a7.jpg

PS – Today I updated the About page, the site header, and my list of blogroll links which now shows the blogs I actually try to keep up with and have provided me with inspiration. They’re like a backup of the bookmarks on my phone now!

Leave a Reply

