RSS Feed

Diet Changes are Hard, Part 2

Last time I wrote about why we’re making more big changes to our diet. Those changes are that we are cutting out dairy, eggs, wheat, and peanuts for at least a year. After reading a lot after receiving our son’s food allergy results (cause there were all kinds of weird stuff that came up on the IgE results that our doctor had never seen before and even the testing lab was really confused by; I won’t go into the details but I will say we always knew our son was one-of-a-kind!) and after learning so much more about foods I’ve also added some restrictions on our consumption of nightshades (potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, eggplant, paprika, etc). We won’t cut them completely – a little pepper in a sausage skillet is okay, but we won’t eat a pizza (ugh, for multiple reasons, nightshades is like the least of our worries on that one).

We cut out all the 4 big ones right away (well, right after the ice cream binge I wrote about in the last post, haha). I’d say within two or three days we were totally converted (I still have a couple items in my pantry to give to friends but we’re just ignoring them for now). I took the time in the first few days to look up lots of new recipes that conform to our new diet so I wouldn’t have to wonder what to make. We went out to the flour warehouse and got some gluten-free flours to try. But no matter how much I try to research and prepare, it’s still hard to switch some things.

Breakfast had turned out to be the most difficult to meal plan for. It is hard to find breakfast items that aren’t eggs or bread/pancakes/waffles/muffins. Our breakfast staple lately has been bacon and eggs, so if we cut out the eggs we’re left with just bacon which, while delicious, isn’t the well-balanced breakfast that we’re going for.

Of course there’s fruit for breakfast, but fruit has a lot of sugar so I don’t want to just eat fruit every day. We need some protein, too.

One day we tried a breakfast skillet – it was mostly sweet potatoes (not a nightshade even though it has “potato” in the name, and actually they were yams or something), onion, our beloved bacon, garlic, salt and pepper (peppercorn: also not a nightshade). Mr. Handsome and I liked it, so did Kiddo1’s sleepover friend for the night, but Kiddo1 not so much. We will be trying again.

Flour is pretty easy to convert to gluten/wheat-free, although I’m discovering a bit of a learning curve with the more detailed baking tasks like muffins and pancakes. Bread, with it’s few ingredients, has been turning out great. I used the Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Homemade Bread Mix for my first try, although I will experiment with GF flours to make my own mix (hopefully one that is nightshade-free, as BRM uses potato starch). I used the recipe on the side of the package (although I accidentally added both oil and my butter-replacer but it turned out really good!).

I really wanted to tackle an egg-free french toast for some reason (I guess because Kiddo1 loves french toast!) so the first thing I made with my first loaf of GF bread was super thick slices of french toast. I used this recipe from the Minimalist Baker – it calls for ground chia seeds instead of eggs (which I also used to make the bread). I used hemp milk for both recipes as well. For a dish that’s pretending to have eggs when it clearly does not, this was pretty good! I would add it to our regular breakfast rotation for sure.

We still can’t eat french toast every day, though (both because of nutrition and time, cause french toast took awhile to make). So I’m working on other recipes – more skillets, because they pack the biggest nutritional punch, but every few days we can have something bready like the french toast or pancakes (two fails on pancakes so far, still looking for a success on that front) or muffins (three sub-pair but edible tries on zucchini bread so far – we have a lot of zucchini from the garden to use). We’ll try to limit our fall-back bacon to just a couple times a week and sneak in other breakfast meats like sausage and even some chicken now and then (but we’re limiting chicken to once or twice a week cause that came up a little bit on Kiddo1’s food allergy test too).

We’re making big progress on breakfast but still struggling to find some rhythm with it. We have done really, really well at trying new things, though. In the last week alone we have done the following:

  • I made homemade lard and have used it as a butter substitute for almost everything (except greasing the baking pans – I still use butter for this because the lard doesn’t seem appealing and Mr. Handsome isn’t the biggest fan of coconut oil, so I need to come up with something for this).
  • Tries of GF baking/breakfasts already mentioned above.
  • We all tried several new-to-us squashes: acorn, kabocha, and yellow-hooked, with red kuri and pattypan waiting in the pantry.
  • We’ve tried coconut milk ice cream and while it isn’t totally the same it does help with the craving.
  • We’ve tried hemp milk in baking (I like it so far) and rice “chocolate” milk that isn’t so great but worth the try.
  • We’ve tried new allergy-friendly cookies from the store to also help with our sweet tooths.

I’m pretty proud of the whole family for coming along with all these changes so quickly. We still have so much progress to make with trying foods and incorporating new foods into our regular meal rotation but if we keep up this momentum we won’t have any troubles.

After we received the food allergy results and were leaving our naturopath’s office he said to us, try to focus more on the foods that you CAN eat instead of the ones you can’t. I try to think of that and remind everyone of it when things get tough. Sure there’s a bunch of things that we can’t have, but there are a bounty of foods out there that we can have and so many of those we’ve never even tried. I think we have a really exciting time ahead of us!

Leave a Reply

