RSS Feed

Gluten Free Flour Blend Recipes

In my quest to perfect survive gluten free baking, I’ve experimented with a lot of flours. Now I’m no where near as experienced as more serious gluten free bakers, I just do this in my spare time. But since my family has stopped eating wheat, dairy, and eggs I have taken it upon myself to make the treats we can no longer easily obtain from a store. Bread, cakes, cookies, pancakes, pastries, and donuts have become something of an obsession. And to make those I need just the right blend of flours.

The biggest thing I’ve learned about allergy-friendly baking is how important it is to have good flour blends. There is no one perfect blend that will work for everything, especially if you are able to sometimes add eggs to you mix. I have been using slightly different blends for bread, cake, etc. Soon I want to post all those recipes, but they’re not quite post-ready yet. In the meantime, I offer you some of my experimental mixes. I will probably update this post as I keep experimenting, but might as well put this out here now so I can refer to it as I post more.

A couple things to keep in mind about all the mixes:

  1. All blends yield about three cups. If you need more, just multiply the quantities by the number of batches needed.
  2. All flours are measured by weight, which is much more accurate than measuring by volume.
  3. I find my baking is more consistent if I weigh and mix my flours when they’re at room temperature. Flours should be stored in the freezer over the long term to prevent them from going rancid (source). I’ll usually pull my flours from the freezer the night before baking. Gluten free baking requires a little more advance preparation but the trade-off is getting to enjoy treats similar to the gluten-filled counterparts, so I’m willing to put in the extra effort.
  4. I get all my flours from Bob’s Red Mill, mostly because their certified gluten free facility and bulk foods store is about 10 minutes from my house. It smells really good there. And sometimes I sneak in a gluten free vegan cookie from the shop. Shhh, that’s our secret. You can find Bob’s Red Mill flours online if they aren’t available in your area.
  5. For more information about mixing gluten free flours, I like this post by Gluten-Free-Girl.

Rice Flour blend (good if you can use eggs with it since it turns out gummy with all egg replacers I’ve tried)

100 grams Brown Rice Flour
100 grams White Rice Flour
100 grams Sweet Rice Flour
80 grams Tapioca Flour
2.5 grams Xanthan Gum (or 1 teaspoon), in addition to what’s called for in your main recipe

 

Bread Blend #1 (no gum, no rice, good with egg replacers like chia seeds)

100 grams Sorghum Flour
100 grams Millet Flour
100 grams Oat Flour
80 grams Tapioca Flour

 

Bread Blend #2 (a little lighter than BB #1; no gum, good with egg replacers like chia seeds)

100 grams Sorghum Flour
100 grams White Rice Flour
100 grams Oat Flour
80 grams Tapioca Flour

 

Pastry Blend (no gum, good with egg replacers like chia seeds and a little lighter than the bread blends)

I’m still working on this one – I hate having more than five ingredients in a flour blend. But in the meantime….
50 grams Brown Rice Flour
50 grams White Rice Flour
50 grams Sweet Rice Flour
40 grams Tapioca Flour
100 grams Oat Flour
100 grams Millet Flour

Leave a Reply

