RSS Feed

Weekly Lunch Wrap Up #8

After last week’s snafu of picture taking nonsense, I made the soft light that I can use to simulate daylight. Ever since then it’s been so much easier to get a clear picture! But all week I was experimenting to find just the right light bulb. So the light may change a bit from day to day, but I feel like we’re getting close to vastly improved daily lunch portraits!

Also I noticed we’ve been relying a lot on ham for our lunch protein even though we eat a variety of meats through the week. And I’m pretty sure ham isn’t considered “clean eating.” So this week I’m focusing on getting other meats in the lunch box. Plus I’m going to talk about where we get our meat from because I like to talk about it.

Monday

 photo 2014-10-20 14.57.18_zpsvw4djlig.jpg

On Monday. Kiddo1 had what’s becoming a Monday staple: a lettuce wrap stuffed with cucumbers and leftovers of whatever roast we had on Sunday for dinner. This week it was a pork loin roast we bought at our food buying club*. It is all the nice things: no soy, no GMO, no anti-biotics, etc. I really love this red leaf lettuce with its curly, colored edges. Kiddo1 needed a little coaxing before he came around to them though (“They’re funny-colored!”). He also had broccoli, carrots, some red grapes and, for dessert, half a Missionary Chocolates Peppermint Bark truffle (vegan).

Tuesday

 photo 2014-10-24 08.34.21_zpsqsog20w8.jpg

Today we have our standard veggies trifecta: carrots, cucumber, and broccoli, with a bit of vegan ranch dressing. There’s also cubed ham – it is uncured and all the nice things: no nitraits, casein, antibotics, pork is veggie-fed, etc. We get it at the grocery store, nothing special. Suddendly I’m realizing there’s no dessert! But there is quinoa… even though that totally doesn’t count for anything in Kiddo1’s opinion. But I put it in there anyway.

Wednesday

 photo 2014-10-24 08.35.51_zpstyq0fsjd.jpg

Kiddo1 requested that Tuesday nights we have “Taco Tuesday,” so now he also gets “Taco Wednesday” for lunch. He ate seven tacos for dinner the night before, and he still wasn’t sick of them! These are beef tacos. In late summer we split a quarter cow with friends. We got 16 pounds of ground beef, plus a bunch of steaks and a couple roasts. It’s good quality, local, grass-fed, “all the nice things” meat. I’m glad we like it because we have a lot of it! We’ve been cooking a couple pounds of beef every week for a couple months and we have a lot left to go! Beef isn’t super great for Kiddo1’s digestive system, though, so I try to limit beef to once a week (one dinner and one lunch… so I guess that’s twice a week). Also included in today’s lunch are leftover steamed veggies seasoned with ginger. Dessert was not forgotten! It’s an Enjoy Life cookie.

Wednesday snack

 photo 2014-10-20 14.58.48_zps5ycvq5mi.jpg

Okay here’s the deal. I know this sprinkle-and-sugar-covered donut looks unhealthy. And compared to the rest of the week it is. But it is free of all his allergens and there are two good reasons it was snack today. Kiddo1 is a member of a club at school and they had a fundraiser over the weekend at the local burger joint. Kiddo1 had a great time hanging out with his friends and helping raise funds for the program, but he had a horrible time being at the burger place. We used to go there before “the change” with our diet. Being there was all kinds of sadness for him as he mourned the foods he cannot have. So the first reason he deserved a treat is because he made it through his fund raising time without eating any of those foods and, while he was sad about it, he didn’t let his emotions get in the way of his commitment, or his fun with his friends. And the second reason he got a donut is that the kids in the club were supposed to get a donut party because they raised almost twice the funds they expected to during their time at the burger place. Turns out that donut party isn’t until next week, though, so Kiddo1 gets two weeks of donut snacks. There are worse things that could happen I suppose.

Thursday

 photo 2014-10-24 08.36.56_zpso32pjg6e.jpg

On Wednesday night we had a whole chicken – our favorite – so Kiddo1 got leftover pulled chicken on Thursday. I bought six chickens from a new food buying group. They do seasonal bulk buys and these chickens were part of the last of three chicken buys for the season. I just bought 40 pounds of squash from them too. 40 pounds isn’t as much squash as you’d think. But it should last us until spring (as long as I store it properly!). Anyway, Kiddo1 also had a kabob of carrots and cucumber with some vegan ranch, also roasted squash seeds and a leftover homemade chocolate chip muffin for dessert. I posted the muffin on my Instagram account (@9yearslater) plus a link to the recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie.

Friday

 photo 2014-10-24 08.37.35_zpsowqkpeis.jpg

Friday was kind of a struggle! Not only did I get a new light bulb and promptly hate it, but I fell back on ham for the second time this week! But it was still a good lunch so I won’t be too hard on myself. The lightbulb though… drove me nuts. I went from like a 2000k bulb to a 6500k one – it was just too cool of a light. I digress. Lunch was a salad on a bed of romaine and leaf lettuce with cucumber and cubes of ham. There was a side of broccoli (vegan ranch not pictured – he won’t take it without the ranch though!). Finally we had another chocolate chip muffin for dessert.

You’ll be happy to know I got a new lightbulb on Saturday that I love, so no more struggles with light. Other than keeping children and pets out of my light. Sigh. They’re so cute though.

* For more on our food buying club and our alternative grocery store choices, see this post.

Leave a Reply

